CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - August 15, 2007) - The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN®) ( recognized its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards luncheon during the NCSBN Delegate Assembly held in Chicago, Aug. 7 - 10, 2007.

Specific award recipients include:

--  Polly Johnson, MSN, RN, FAAN, executive director, North Carolina State
    Board of Nursing, was honored with the R. Louise McManus Award, the most
    prestigious of NCSBN's awards. Individuals receiving this award have made
    sustained and lasting significant contributions through their deep
    commitment and dedication to the purpose and mission of NCSBN.
--  Judith Hiner, BSN, RN, board member, Kansas State Board of Nursing,
    received the Exceptional Leadership Award, which is awarded to an
    individual who has served as president of a member board and has made
    significant contributions to NCSBN in that role.
--  Mark Majek, MA, PHR, board staff, Texas Board of Nursing, received the
    Meritorious Achievement Award, which is granted to a board or staff member
    of a member board for positive impact and significant contributions to the
    purposes of NCSBN.
--  Peggy Fishburn, LPN, board member, Kentucky Board of Nursing, received the
    Exceptional Contribution Award awarded for significant contribution by a
    board of nursing staff member who does not serve as an executive officer or
    a board member who is not the current board president.
--  The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing was awarded the
    Regulatory Achievement Award, which recognizes the member board that has
    made an identifiable, significant contribution to the purpose of NCSBN in
    promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of
    nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In addition, service awards were given to the following executive officers of boards of nursing:

Five Years

--  Sylvia Bond, Georgia Board of Nursing
--  Gloria Damgaard, South Dakota Board of Nursing
--  Jay Douglas, Virginia Board of Nursing
--  Laurette Keiser, Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing
--  Karen Scipio-Skinner, District of Columbia Board of Nursing
--  Debra Scott, Nevada State Board of Nursing
--  Rosa Tudela, Northern Mariana Islands Commonwealth Board of Nurse
--  Margaret Walker, New Hampshire Board of Nursing

10 Years

--  Polly Johnson, North Carolina Board of Nursing

The following nursing boards are celebrating 100 years of nursing regulation in 2007:

--  District of Columbia Board of Nursing
--  Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
--  Iowa Board of Nursing
--  Georgia Board of Nursing
--  Minnesota Board of Nursing
--  New Hampshire Board of Nursing
--  West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose membership comprises the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories.

Mission: The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN), composed of Member Boards, provides leadership to advance regulatory excellence for public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information: Contact: Dawn M. Kappel Director, Marketing and Communications 312.525.3667 direct 312.279.1034 fax