ATLANTA, June 10, 2009 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and the Sports Video Group (SVG) announced the winners of the First Annual Global Media Awards for College Sports yesterday. The awards celebrate excellence across the entire spectrum of college sports video production, including work by colleges and universities, national and regional sports networks, and technology innovators.

"This year's winners are proof positive that college sports is an important part of the fan experience and the Global Media Awards is a perfect way to honor that contribution," said Ken Kerschbaumer, SVG Editorial Director.

Paul Pillitteri, Director, NATAS added, "We have now enlarged our Global Media brand to encompass a growing and vibrant college community that competes with professional sports broadcasting in local markets across the country."

A special presentation of was also made to Fox Sports, Cinedigm, 3ality Digital, Game Creek, and Sony for their innovations in 3D production and broadcast of the 2009 FedEx BCS National Championship Game.

The winners are:

 Best Live Game or Event: Colleges, Conferences or Governing Bodies

 Husky Productions
 St. Cloud State University

 Best Live Game or Event:  Production Media or Production Companies

 Big East Championship Quarter-Final: Syracuse vs. Connecticut

 College Football - #1 Texas vs #7 Texas Tech

 Special Feature: Colleges, Conferences or Governing Bodies

 The Climb
 University of Miami (FL)

 Special Feature: Media or Production Companies

 Big East Championship Semi-Finals 7 EST Tease

 Outstanding Highlight Package: Colleges, Conferences or Governing Bodies

 2008-2009 All-Sport Highlight Package
 Baylor University

 Outstanding Highlight Package: Media or Production Companies

 One Shining Moment
 CBS Sports

 Outstanding Promotional Video or Campaign: Colleges, Conferences or 
 Governing Bodies

 2008-09 Season Ticket Campaign, Baylor University

 Outstanding Promotional Video: Media or Production Companies

 URI and PC Promotionals
 Cox Communications

 Technological Innovation

 CBS Sports NCAA March Madness On Demand, powered by MobiTV

 College Sports Video of the Year

 2008 - 2009 Men's Basketball Open
 Baylor University
Sports Video Group 
Ken Kerschbaumer