Photo Release -- Ricardo Salinas Sees Strong Growth Opportunities in Mexico

In an Interview With CNBC He Noted That Potential Comes From the Large Proportion of Young People That Will Acquire Numerous Goods for New Households

        Print
| Source: Grupo Salinas
photo-release

Ricardo Salinas y Maria Bartiromo durante la entrevista para "Closing Bell" de CNBC
Ricardo Salinas and Maria Bartiromo during the interview for CNBC's "Closing Bell"

NEW YORK, Oct. 24, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically-advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced that its Chairman, Ricardo Salinas, was interviewed on October 23 by Mary Bartiromo of CNBC regarding the current state of economics and business in Mexico.

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=21773

Mr. Salinas said that there are great opportunities for growth in consumption in Mexico, in the context of a high proportion of young people who will form households and acquire a large amount of goods and services. Mexico is a country of young people; according to the last population and housing census, nearly half of its population is 26 years old or less.

He also commented on the importance of the new telecommunications reform, which seeks to promote competition. This is especially relevant for Mexico given the high concentration of the industry following government privatization close to 20 years ago.

Mr. Salinas also commented on the tax reform currently being discussed in Mexico and the implications it will have going forward.

In addition to adding value to society through Grupo Salinas companies, Ricardo Salinas is an outspoken opinion leader: to learn more about his ideas visit his blog, http://www.ricardosalinas.com/blog/blog.aspx?lang=en, which includes views on this and other current topics.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings

The photo is also available via AP PhotoExpress.

Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059;