Photo Release -- Ricardo Salinas Presents "Una Vida por la Libertad" Award to Vaclav Klaus, Former President of the Czech Republic

Also Awarded the Winners of the 8th Caminos de la Libertad Essay Contest

        Print
| Source: Grupo Salinas
photo-release

Ricardo B. Salinas, Vaclav Klaus, former president of the Czech Republic, and Sergio Sarmiento

MEXICO CITY, Dec. 2, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies that are deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, announced that its Chairman, Ricardo Salinas, presented the "Una Vida por la Libertad" award that celebrates the promotion of freedom to Václav Klaus, former president of the Czech Republic, for his contribution to the democratic transformation of his country.

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=22488

"Václav Klaus was one of the protagonists of the Velvet Revolution that inspired Eastern Europe and many countries like Mexico. In his role as Prime Minister and President, he urged fundamental reforms in the Czech economy which enabled it to be today among the most competitive in Europe and the world," said Ricardo Salinas.

The ceremony was part of the presentation of 8th Caminos de la Libertad Essay Contest, organized by journalist Sergio Sarmiento.

Within the competition, first place was awarded to Axel Kaiser Barents von Hohenhagen from Chile, for his essay entitled "The Great Degeneration: the Lost Ideal of the Founding Fathers of the United States"; second place went to Alfonso Martínez Ruiz from Guatemala; and third place to Javier Duque Daza from Colombia. Eight honorable mentions were also awarded to outstanding participants from Mexico and Latin America. The essays are published in an anthology edited by Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas.

Caminos de la Libertad is a Grupo Salinas program to promote discussion about freedom through essays and multimedia contests, lectures, working groups, book presentations and exhibitions. Caminos de la Libertad attracts globally-recognized writers to its essay contest and also promotes a multi-media contest for youth, all with the aim of reflecting on the important issue of freedom.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059;