Photo Release -- Limpiemos Nuestro Mexico Cleanup Campaign Recognizes Top Community Environmental Leaders, Cleanest Cities of Mexico and Best Recycling Project

        Print
| Source: Grupo Salinas
photo-release

Ricardo B. Salinas, President of Grupo Salinas, with contest winners from the 2013 Limpiemos Nuestro Mexico cleanup campaign, and representatives from participating companies and public institutions

MEXICO CITY, Jan. 24, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate and founded by entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), awarded today through Fundación Azteca, the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (SEMARNAT), the Ministry of Health (SALUD), Grupo Bimbo and the Mexican Soccer League LigaMX, those team leaders and project that outperformed during the 2013 Limpiemos Nuestro Mexico cleanup campaign. The prizes awarded were in the categories of Top Community Environmental Leaders, Cleanest Cities of Mexico and Best Recycling Project.

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=23222

Our cleanup campaign aims to raise awareness about the problem of littering and its effect on the environment and it also promotes trash recycling. The initiative has transcended borders and been replicated in Guatemala, El Salvador, Peru, and even in China through Italika and Grupo Bimbo.

Limpiemos Nuestro México is a project of Grupo Salinas Chairman Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego that unites companies, organizations and civil society in general to make Mexico a cleaner place. On May 26, 2013, 7.5 million volunteers participated and collected 37,000 metric tons of garbage. Overall, in its five editions, 20.6 million volunteers had collected 97,000 metric tons of garbage throughout the country.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059,