Handelsbanken

Press release

Stockholm 12 February, 2014

Annual general meeting of Handelsbanken's shareholders, 26 March 2014

Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ) invites its shareholders to attend the annual general meeting at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, 26 March 2014 at the Grand Hôtel's Winter Garden, Royal Entrance, Stallgatan 4, Stockholm.

The agenda includes a proposal for dividends of SEK 16.50 per share, with the ordinary dividend being SEK 11.50 per share, and the Board's proposal to adopt a convertible bond programme for the employees.

Regarding the election of members of the Board, the nomination committee proposes the re-election of Jon Fredrik Baksaas, Pär Boman, Tommy Bylund, Jan Johansson, Ole Johansson, Fredrik Lundberg, Sverker Martin-Löf, Anders Nyrén, Bente Rathe and Charlotte Skog. Lone Fønss Schrøder has declined re-election. In addition, the nomination committee proposes the re-election of Anders Nyrén as Chairman of the Board.

Further information can be found in the attached notice to attend the AGM, the Swedish version of which will be published on 14 February 2014 in *Post- och Inrikes Tidningar* (the official Swedish Gazette), and which will be available on Handelsbanken's website at handelsbanken.se/ireng.

For further information, please contact:

Anders Nyrén, Chairman of the Board

Tel: +46 8 701 54 61, e-mail: anny18@handelsbanken.se

Klas Tollstadius, Secretary of the Board

Tel: +46 8 701 29 01, e-mail: klto01 @handelsbanken.se

For more information about Handelsbanken, see: www.handelsbanken.com