VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - March 20, 2014) - Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, today named this year's recipients of the B.C. Community Achievement Awards.

"As British Columbians, we are inspired by those in our communities who make a difference by their efforts," said Clark. "Thank you to the 2014 recipients for their contributions; you make our Province stronger with your commitment and generosity."

"We recognize individuals today who have made a significant contribution either as volunteers or in the course of their work," said Mitchell. We're honoured to celebrate the contributions of these exceptional British Columbians."

The recipients of the 2014 awards are:

  • Selen Alpay of Prince George
  • Cathy Ashurst of Burns Lake
  • Amrik Singh Aulakh of Surrey
  • Donald Brown of Victoria
  • Helen Clifton of Hartley Bay
  • Lynnette Cobb of Williams Lake
  • John D'Eathe of West Vancouver
  • Allan De Genova of Vancouver
  • Judy Dix of Prince George
  • Wayne Duzita of Richmond
  • Michael Feller of Richmond
  • Keith Gibson of Tofino
  • Daphne Goode of Victoria
  • Lawrence Haiducu of Surrey
  • Deanna Hamilton of Kelowna
  • Jill Hayward of Louis Creek
  • Carol Hunt of North Cowichan
  • Valerie Ingram of Southbank
  • Bonnie Leadbeater of Victoria
  • Bessie Lee of Vancouver
  • Morgan Leung of Delta
  • Larry Leung of Burnaby and Jason Min of Delta
  • Donald Lindsay of Vancouver
  • Gordon Marks of Anmore
  • Michael McCoy of Richmond
  • John McLernon of Vancouver
  • Donald Pettit of Dawson Creek
  • Ethel Smith of Loon Lake
  • Marilin States of Creston
  • Fred Titcomb of West Vancouver
  • Germain Vigneault of Port Clements
  • Pat Wahlstrom of Quesnel
  • Miriam Yu of Vancouver

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards from nominations received in the Fall, 2013. The council members are Mayor Stephanie Killam of the District of Mackenzie, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of the City of Quesnel, and past recipients, Maggie Ip of Vancouver, Alan Markwart of Victoria and Don Shumka of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2014 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on April 29, 2014. Each will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the BC Community Achievement Awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the Carter Wosk B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.'s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations' Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.

For background about the recipients, please visit

Learn more about the BC Achievement Foundation at:

Contact Information:

BC Achievement Foundation
Nora Newlands
Executive Director