Tekmira Reports on Voting Results From 2014 Annual Meeting of Shareholders

| Source: Arbutus Biopharma Corporation

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, May 9, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Tekmira Pharmaceuticals Corporation (Nasdaq:TKMR) (TSX:TKM), a leading developer of RNA interference (RNAi) therapeutics, announced the voting results from its Annual General and Special Meeting of Shareholders held Thursday May 8, 2014 in Vancouver, B.C. Shareholders voted in favor of all items of business, including the election of each of the six director nominees as follows:

Nominee Votes For % For Votes Withheld % Withheld
Peggy Phillips 7,903,418 99.79% 16,513 0.21%
Kenneth Galbraith 7,904,317 99.80% 15,614 0.20%
Don Jewell 7,906,117 99.83% 13,814 0.17%
Frank Karbe 7,904,192 99.80% 15,739 0.20%
Daniel Kisner 7,901,142 99.76% 18,789 0.24%
Mark J. Murray 7,902,367 99.78% 17,564 0.22%

About Tekmira

Tekmira Pharmaceuticals Corporation is a biopharmaceutical company focused on advancing novel RNAi therapeutics and providing its leading lipid nanoparticle delivery technology to pharmaceutical partners. Tekmira has been working in the field of nucleic acid delivery for over a decade and has broad intellectual property covering LNPs. Further information about Tekmira can be found at www.tekmira.com. Tekmira is based in Vancouver, B.C.

Tekmira Investor Relations
Phone: 604-419-3200
Email: ir@tekmira.com

Alan Bayless
Longview Communications Inc.
Phone: 604-694-6035
Email: abayless@longview.ca