Sea Launch Begins Countdown for EUTELSAT 3B Launch

Launch Day is May 26, 2014

        Print
| Source: Sea Launch

154 Degrees West Longitude, Equator, Pacific Ocean, May 23, 2014 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Sea Launch and Energia Logistics teams have initiated the L-72 hour launch countdown sequence for the EUTELSAT 3B mission following arrival at its equatorial launch site on May 23rd.  Launch operations are now underway at the Equator, at 154 degrees West longitude. The Sea Launch Commander is positioned alongside the Launch Platform Odyssey, with the two vessels periodically connected by a link bridge that facilitates foot traffic between the vessels. A day before liftoff, the Zenit-3SL rocket will be erected on the launch pad for final tests of the launch system and spacecraft, prior to start of the terminal countdown.

The launch of the EUTELSAT 3B communications satellite is presently scheduled for Monday, May 26th at 14:10 Pacific Daylight Time (21:10 UTC, 23:10 CEST) at the opening of a 54-minute launch window.

During final preparations for liftoff, the platform will be evacuated, with all personnel positioned on the ship, three miles up range from the platform. At launch, the rocket will lift the 5,967 kilograms (13,155 lbs.) spacecraft to geosynchronous transfer orbit, on its way to a final orbital location at 3 degrees East longitude.

Sea Launch will carry live coverage of this launch via streaming video on the Sea Launch website (www.sea-launch.com).  Coverage will begin approximately 15 minutes before the scheduled launch time, or 13:55 PDT (20:55 UTC, 22:55 CEST). Details of the Eutelsat spacecraft, its payload, as well as the launch vehicle's mission profile, launch timelines, groundtrack, injection orbit, launch campaign highlights and mission album images can also be found on the Sea Launch website.

About Sea Launch SA

Sea Launch SA provides launch solutions to the industry's satellite operator community based on the Zenit launch system. These services include the provision of all-inclusive launch services incorporating schedule assurance, financing, risk management; insurance and creative contracting solutions to meet the changing demands of the commercial launch market. Sea Launch owns or manages through affiliate agreements the primary technology, patent and other intellectual property and tangible assets required to perform its launch services business. These include the highly specialized vessels Odyssey Launch Platform and the Sea Launch Commander each located in the Home Port facility in Long Beach, California, as well as the unique know-how associated with launching satellites from an ocean-based launch platform located directly on the equator. The Sea Launch system offers the most direct and cost-effective route to geostationary orbit for commercial communications satellites, providing diversity of supply, affordability and flexibility for the industry's satellite operators. For more information, please visit the Sea Launch website at www.sea-launch.com

Peter Stier, +1 562 254 5895,