LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwired - Mar 11, 2015) -

  • "Bailando" Named Latin Song of the Year
  • Sony/ATV Discos Music Publishing and WB Music Corp. Named Publishers of the Year
  • Mayimba Music Named Independent Publisher of the Year

Claudia Brant and Romeo Santos were named Songwriters of the Year at the 23rd annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards, held tonight at The Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. ASCAP President Paul Williams presented the award to Claudia Brant. This is the second time that Brant has received the Songwriter of the Year award and Romeo Santos' fifth win in that category.

Williams also presented several exclusive ASCAP Latin honors at the ceremony: the ASCAP Latin Heritage Award went to La Original Banda El Limón de Salvador Lizarraga in recognition of their unique and enduring contributions to Latin music; David Bisbal received the ASCAP Voice of Music Award for songwriters and artists whose music gives voice to the spirit of a generation; and Mario Domm received the Golden Note Award for his extraordinary career milestones.

The songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed songs in Latin Music in 2014 were also recognized during the invite-only awards ceremony.

ASCAP's Executive Vice President of Creative Services John Titta and Vice President of Latin Membership Alexandra Lioutikoff presented the Publisher of the Year award to Sony/ATV Discos Music Publishing and WB Music Corp. and the Independent Publisher of the Year to Mayimba Music. The Latin Song of the Year award went to "Bailando" (written by Descemer Bueno, Alexander Delgado Hernandez, Enrique Iglesias, Randy Malcolm Martinez; published by BMG Gold Songs, EIP Music, EMI April Music, Sony/ATV Tunes).

Telemundo's network TV personality, Elva Saray, hosted the all-star gathering, which featured performances and the participation of some of Latin music's hottest stars, including:
Christian Daniel, Alejandro Lerner, Alex Da Kid, Andres Castro, Beto Cuevas, Carlos Marmo, Chris Jeday, Daniel Santacruz, Estela Mora, Gerardo Ortiz, Gianmarco Zignago, Jerry Demara, Miguelito, Maffio, Natalia Jimenez, Noel Schajris, Prince Charlez, Ruben Rabasa, Sergio Zavala and others.  

Awards were presented throughout the evening in the following categories: Pop, Tropical, Regional Mexican, Urban and Television. A complete list of winners is available here.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business -- from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 525,000 members representing more than 10 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. www.ascap.com