MEMPHIS, Tenn., Feb. 20, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 41 elite drivers from Tennessee are among 1,575 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.  

Tennessee boasts 288 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 8,360 years of accident-free driving. Gary Witt of Springville is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 44 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,199 total UPS drivers in Tennessee. 

Globally, 9,349 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor.  Collectively they’ve racked up 266,554 years and nearly 14 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to the moon and back almost 29,000 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Charlene Thomas, president, UPS Mid-South District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 54 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 48 years of safe driving. Ninety-one others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering nearly 5 billion packages annually. 

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928

** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.  If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Tennessee drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Baker,  Thomas Ooltewah Doraville, GA
Braden,  John Mc Donald Doraville, GA
Brown Willoughby,  Mary Newbern Dyersburg 
Browning,  Marlon Cunningham Clarksville 
Carlson,  Richard Millington Memphis
Cook,  Robert Morristown Johnson City 
Crawford,  Darrell Springfield Nashville
Dennis,  Gabriel Knoxville Knoxville 
Dorning,  John Lawrenceburg Lawrenceburg 
Foltz,  David Donelson   Nashville 
Gayton,  Jesse Ooltewah Chattanooga 
Giles,  David Knoxville Knoxville 
Grisham,  Kenneth Hendersonville Nashville
Hayes,  Tracy Milan Jackson 
Henley,  Robert Bartlett Memphis
Hicks,  Charles Lebanon Nashville 
Kennedy,  Jason Murfreesboro Murfreesboro 
McArthur,  Joseph Smyrna Nashville 
Melton,  Clarence Lawrenceburg Nashville
Miller,  James Memphis Memphis
Miller,  Michael Antioch Franklin 
Miller,  Ronald Copperhill Cleveland 
Milligan,  William Memphis Memphis
Mosley,  Robert Oakland   Memphis
Moton,  Dustan Collierville Memphis
Murphy,  James Powell Knoxville 
Phillips,  Timothy Jackson Memphis
Plumlee,  Darryn Knoxville Knoxville 
Poole,  Ronnie Springfield Nashville
Robinson,  Christopher Cookeville Cookeville 
Runions,  Terry Dyersburg Dyersburg 
Saulsberry,  Kenneth Memphis Memphis
Searcy,  Michael Old Hickory Nashville
Skelley,  Norris Cookeville Cookeville 
Smartt,  Tracy Mount Juliet Nashville
Smith,  Hassell   Memphis Memphis
Smith,  MichaelWhite House Nashville
Taylor,  Terry Piney Flats Bristol, VA 
Thomas,  Mickey JoeltonNashville
Tobitt,  DavidWinchesterTullahoma 
Williamson,  JamesKnoxvilleOliver Springs
Contact: UPS Public Relations