— TV Azteca, Banco Azteca, Tiendas Elektra, Totalplay and Italika are awarded

— Grupo Salinas reiterates its commitment to inclusive prosperity through the generation of economic, environmental and social value 

MEXICO CITY, May 23, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically-advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries where they operate, announced today that during the XI Latin American Meeting of Socially Responsible Companies, which took place on May 14 at the World Trade Center in Mexico City, five Grupo Salinas companies received Empresa Socialmente Responsable (Socially Responsible Company), or ESR certifications.

TV Azteca (BMV: AZTECACPO; Latibex: XTZA, Banco Azteca, Tiendas Elektra) (BMV: ELEKTRA*; Latibex: XEKT), Totalplay and Italika were recognized for their commitment to the quality of life in their respective work environments; business ethics; community ties; and environmental responsibility.

Grupo Salinas has a solid commitment with its partners and the communities where it operates. These distinctions are an incentive to continue working for constant cultural change and to continue promoting inclusive prosperity in Mexico through the generation of economic, social and environmental value in all its activities.

The distinction of "Empresa Socialmente Responsable” is recognized annually by the Mexican Center for Philanthropy (CEMEFI) and the Alliance for Corporate Social Responsibility (AliaRSE).

In the case of Italika, this is the fourth consecutive year of receiving the certification, while Banco Azteca and Tiendas Elektra are in their second year; TV Azteca and Totalplay received the recognition for the first time.

Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic companies committed to the generation of shared value, congratulates its partners and reiterates its vocation to continue promoting social and environmental initiatives in favor of inclusive prosperity and the positive transformation of Mexico.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating: economic value through market innovation and goods and services that improve standards of living; social value, to create social capabilities to improve community conditions; and environmental value, by reducing the negative impact related to its business activities. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Totalplay Empresarial (http://totalplayempresarial.com.mx). TV Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade on the Mexican Stock Exchange and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies shares a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Press Relations:

Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx

Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com