CUAUTLANCINGO, Puebla, Dec. 12, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, deeply committed to the modernization of the countries where they operate, announced today that Grupo Salinas Chairman Ricardo Salinas, Puebla Governor José Antonio Gali Fayad, Grupo Salinas Advisory Councils President Ninfa Salinas Sada, and Fundación Azteca General Director Antonio Domínguez, as well as local authorities, teachers, parents and students, inaugurated the Azteca-Puebla Talent School, with the objective of promoting the development of public middle and high school students, under the outreach project called "Grupo Salinas Model of Education Intervention" (MIE-GS in Spanish).

Following the ribbon cutting, Governor Tony Gali said he was taking a firm step for quality education and promoting the excellence of Puebla students. He thanked Fundación Azteca of Grupo Salinas and specifically its Chairman, Ricardo Salinas, for his commitment to the education of Mexican youth.

Mr. Salinas said ideas have consequences and good ideas have good consequences. And this is how this plant whose seed was planted 20 years ago with the creation of Plantel Azteca, a school of excellence, can be replicated today and offer an opportunity to outstanding and committed youth.

Ricardo Salinas added that education should be for everyone, but for those who try harder, we must help them go further, which is the commitment of the Azteca-Puebla School of Talent.

Ninfa Salinas Sada said nothing is more important than academics and the human development of our youth. “We need to form more well-rounded Mexicans, who have established values and good ideas that can produce great results,” she added.

The Grupo Salinas Model of Educational Intervention was implemented in Puebla for the 2018-2019 school year, characterized by active and collaborative learning, as well as personalized psychological support. The curriculum also includes extracurricular classes such as robotics, English, music and art, and foments appreciation for Fundación Azteca's environmental and community development programs.

Together with the Puebla government, the MIE-GS program was implemented with the 685 middle and high school students of the Technical Secondary School No. 71, located in the municipality of Cuautlancingo.

During the inauguration, a new joint building for the middle and high school was named the Azteca-Puebla School of Talent, with four middle school and six high school classrooms, as well as a “Maker” room, a computer lab, a library, a multi-use laboratory, a lunch room, and administrative and counseling areas.

Through actions like this, Grupo Salinas enforces its commitment to promote equal opportunities and quality of life for youth through education.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating: economic value through market innovation and goods and services that improve standards of living; social value, to create social capabilities to improve communities; and environmental value, by reducing the negative impact of business activities. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.TVazteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Punto Casa de Bolsa (www.puntocasadebolsa.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Totalplay Empresarial (http://totalplayempresarial.com.mx). TV Azteca and Grupo Elektra trade on the Mexican Stock Exchange and are part of its Sustainability Index. Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. The group of companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Press Relations:

Luciano Pascoe, +52 (55) 1720 1313 ext. 36553, lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx
Daniel McCosh, +52 (55) 1720-0059, dmccosh@gruposalinas.com