INDIANAPOLIS, Feb. 26, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 40 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,436 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. 

Indiana boasts 286 Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 8,366 years of accident-free driving. Charles Roach of Frankton is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 49 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,330 total full-time UPS drivers in Indiana.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Kevin Church, president, UPS Ohio Valley District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 56 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 50 years of safe driving. One hundred twenty six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 125,000 small package drivers worldwide are among the safest on the roads, logging close to 4 billion miles a year and delivering 5.2 billion packages annually. 

Collectively, these drivers have achieved more than 298,957 years of safe driving throughout their careers. That’s enough time behind the wheel to drive non-stop from Miami to San Diego – 68 million times. And they’ve done it while helping to deliver 3 percent of the world’s GDP – 20 million packages a day.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923.  In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following page lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center.  If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Aldridge, DawnPekinClarksville
Bacon, StephenLaporteWestville
Bailey Jr., ByronIndianapolisIndianapolis
Bailey, BradleyGreenwoodIndianapolis
Benner, MarkGrangerElkhart
Butler, BrentSouth BendIndianapolis
Condra, CharlesNew AlbanyLouisville, KY
Edwards, RogerCrown PointHarvey, IL
Fowler, RichardHighlandChicago, IL
Graves, BryanCrawfordsvilleCrawfordsville
Grisby, MartinIndianapolisIndianapolis
Harner, LynnPlymouthBourbon
Hertel, ToddSouth BendSouth Bend
Holt, JeffreyIndianapolisIndianapolis
Jacobs, BruceScherervilleAddison, IL
Jacobs, JonEvansvilleEvansville
James, KevinLakevilleIndianapolis
Jerger, RodneyJasperPlainfield
Kwiecien, JamesLa PorteWestville
Lawson, StevenBeech GroveCastleton
Leonard, DavidRockvilleTerre Haute
Linkmeyer, JoeCross PlainsVersailles
Mahns, BarbaraValparaisoHammond
Moser, DaleHuntertownWaterloo
Muncy, SpencerJeffersonvilleLouisville, KY
Oberle, JohnChestertonIndianapolis
Oser, JeffreyHuntingburgHuntingburg
Pataky, MarkMunsterChicago, IL
Perkins, MichaelSelmaAnderson
Pierce, FrederickFort WayneFort Wayne
Richardson, RussellFort WayneFort Wayne
Roberts, RossSpencerBloomington
Robertson, Kenneth AdamIndianapolisCastleton
Robinson, JamesVeedersburgCrawfordsville
Sears, RandallSpeedwayIndianapolis
Spaugh, RobertElkhartIndianapolis
Thomas,  JasonLaOttoFort Wayne
Thomas, KeithIndianapolisIndianapolis
Weisner, LisaColumbusColumbus
White, RussellKnoxWestville

UPS Public Relations