

Press Release

Sandvik AB Nomination Committee's proposal to Board prior to 2010 AGM

The Nomination Committee of Sandvik AB proposes the election of new Board member Lars Westerberg and the reelection of Georg Ehrnrooth, Fredrik Lundberg, Hanne de Mora, Egil Myklebust, Anders Nyrén, Simon Thompson and Lars Pettersson. Anders Nyrén is proposed as the new Chairman of the Board.

Lars Westerberg, born 1948, MSc. Eng. and B.Sc. (Econ.), is Chairman of the Board of Vattenfall AB, Husqvarna AB and Autoliv AB, and a Board member of AB Volvo and SSAB. He is independent in accordance with the rules of the Swedish Code of Corporate Governance.

Clas Åke Hedström has explained that he wishes to retire from his position on the Board after 16 years, eight of which as Chairman. Clas Åke Hedström held the position of President from 1994 to 2002 and, prior to this, held several senior positions within Sandvik.

The Nomination Committee comprised Carl-Olof By, Industrivärden, Chairman, Håkan Sandberg, Handelsbanken's Pension Foundation and Pension Fund, Staffan Grefbäck, Alecta, Marianne Nilsson, Swedbank Robur Funds and Clas Åke Hedström, Sandvik's Chairman of the Board.

The Nomination Committee's other proposals concerning the Chairman of the Meeting, remuneration and the method used to appoint the Nomination Committee will be disclosed in the notice of the Annual General Meeting.

The Annual General Meeting of Sandvik AB will be held on 4 May 2010, at 5:00 p.m. at Göransson Arena in Sandviken.

Further information can be obtained from the Nomination Committee's Chairman Carl-Olof By, tel. +46 8 66 66 400.

Sandviken, 16 March 2010

Sandvik Aktiebolag (publ)

Sandvik AB discloses the information provided herein pursuant to the Securities Markets Act and/or the Financial Instruments Trading Act. The information was submitted for publication at 14:00 p.m. on 16 March 2010.