

PRESS INFORMATION

Submitted for publication at 09h a.m. on 23 October2008

Nominations committee for 2009 Annual General Meeting

In accordance with the decision made at the Annual General Meeting of Billerud AB on 29 April, 2008, the chairman has contacted the largest shareholders and a nominations committee has been formed with the following members:

Michael M.F. Kaufmann, Frapag Beteiligungsholding AG, chairman Anders Oscarsson, SEB fonder and SEB Trygg Liv Fredrik Nordström, AMF Pension Fondförvaltning AB

Ingvar Petersson, the chairman of Billerud AB, is the secretary of the nominations committee.

Shareholders are welcome to send suggestions and opinions to the committee via email to valberedningen@billerud.com or by normal post to Valberedningen, Billerud AB, Box 703, 169 27 Solna.

The 2009 Annual General Meeting will take place on 6 May 2009 at Nalen, Regeringsgatan 74, Stockholm, Sweden.

Stockholm, 23 October 2008 Billerud AB (publ)

Per Lindberg President and CEO

For further information, please contact: Ingvar Petersson, Chairman, Billerud AB, +46 70 595 76 05

The information is such that under the Securities and Clearing Operations Act, Billerud AB is obligated to publish it.

Billerud AB (publ) Box 703, SE-169 27 Solna, Sweden Tel +46 8 553 335 00 Fax +46 8 553 335 60 E-mail: ir@billerud.com

Billerud is a packaging paper company. The company's business concept is to offer demanding customers packaging materials and solutions that promote and protect their products – packaging that is attractive, strong, sustainable and based on renewable materials. Billerud has a world-leading position within several product segment; within paper for consumer and industrial packaging. Production takes place at three integrated pulp and paper mills in Sweden and at one paper mill in the UK.