

Press Release

October 9, 2008

Nomination Committee for 2009

The 2009 Annual General Meeting of Swedbank AB will be held in Stockholm Friday 24 April 2009.

The following persons are the members of the Nomination Committee:

Torgny Wännström representing AFA Försäkring (AFA Insurance)

Hans Laufeld representing Sparbanksstiftelsernas Förvaltningsaktiebolag och

Sparbanksstiftelser (Savings Banks Foundations)

Lennart Ohlstenius representing the Savings Banks and The Swedish Savings Banks

Organisation

Peder Hasslev representing AMF Pension and AMF Pension Fondförvaltning (Asset

Management) AB

Carl Eric Stålberg Chair of the Board of Directors of Swedbank AB

The Nomination Committee is to make proposals to the 2009 AGM regarding the election of Chair of the AGM, the election of Chair of the Board and other board members, remuneration to the board members as well as to the auditors and submit proposal for principles for the selection of a Nomination Committee.

Shareholders who want to forward a proposal to the Nomination Committee shall submit a written proposal no later than 23 January, 2009 to the following address:

Nomination Committee

c/o Swedbank,

The Secretary of the Nomination Committee H12

105 34 Stockholm

The proposals of the Nomination Committee will be presented in the invitation to the AGM and simultaneously on the web site of Swedbank.

For further information:

Carl Eric Stålberg, Chair of the Board of Swedbank, phone: +46 8-585 912 96 Cecilia Hernqvist, secretary of the Nomination Committee of Swedbank, phone: +46 8-585 913 23