Handelsbanken

Press release

Stockholm, 29 April 2009

Handelsbanken's annual general meeting

The board

At the annual general meeting on 29 April 2009, the board of Handelsbanken was re-elected, with the exception of Pirkko Alitalo and Sigrun Hjelmqvist, who had declined re-election. Lone Fonss Schroeder, chief executive of Wallenius Lines AB, and Jan Johansson, chief executive of Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget, were elected to the board as new members. Hans Larsson was elected chairman.

At the subsequent first board meeting, Anders Nyrén and Fredrik Lundberg were appointed as vice chairmen of the board.

The board members are listed below.

Dividend

The annual general meeting adopted the board's proposal for a dividend of SEK 7 per share. The record day for the dividend is Tuesday, 5 May 2009. The dividend is expected to be distributed by Euroclear on Friday, 8 May 2009.

Nomination committee

The nomination committee shall have five members. Four of the members (the "Shareholders' Representatives") shall represent the Bank's four largest shareholders/shareholder groups in terms of votes according to shareholder information as at 31 August 2009 from Euroclear Sweden AB (the "Largest Shareholders"); one of these members is to chair the committee. However, the nomination committee must not include representatives of companies which are significant competitors of the Bank in any of its main areas of operations.

The annual general meeting assigns the chairman of the board to contact the Largest Shareholders. These will each appoint one representative who, together with the chairman, are to constitute the nomination committee for the period until a new nomination committee is appointed by mandate of the next annual general meeting. The members of the nomination committee for the nomination of board members for 2010 shall be announced at least six months before the 2010 annual general meeting.

Members of the board 2009

JON FREDRIK BAKSAAS, Sandvika
ULRIKA BOËTHIUS, Stockholm
PÄR BOMAN, Linköping
TOMMY BYLUND, Ljusdal
GÖRAN ENNERFELT, Upplands Väsby
JAN JOHANSSON, Stockholm
HANS LARSSON, Stockholm
FREDRIK LUNDBERG, Djursholm
SVERKER MARTIN-LÖF, Stockholm
ANDERS NYRÉN, Bromma
BENTE RATHE, Trondheim
LONE FONSS SCHROEDER, Copenhagen

Minutes

Minutes of the annual general meeting will be available on the Bank's website http://www.handelsbanken.se/ireng approximately two weeks from today's date.