## Handelsbanken

## Press release

Stockholm, 20 March 2008

## Annual general meeting of Handelsbanken's shareholders on 23 April

Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ) has today sent notices to its shareholders inviting them to attend the annual general meeting on Wednesday, 23 April 2008, at 10 a.m. at the Grand Hôtel, Vinterträdgård, Royal entrance, Stallgatan 4, Stockholm.

The agenda includes the proposed dividend of SEK 13,50 per share, the board's proposal for cancellation of repurchased shares and a new authorisation for the board to resolve on acquisition and divestment of shares in the Bank and the board's proposal for issuance of a convertible subordinated loan to the employee of the bank.

Regarding election of members of the board, the proposal comprises reelection of Lars O Grönstedt (as chairman), Pirkko Alitalo, Fredrik Baksaas, Ulrika Boëthius, Pär Boman, Tommy Bylund, Göran Ennerfelt, Sigrun Hjelmquist, Hans Larsson, Fredrik Lundberg, Sverker Martin-Löf, Anders Nyrén and Bente Rathe.

For further information please see the complete notice on Internet, <a href="http://www.handelsbanken.se/agm">http://www.handelsbanken.se/agm</a>.

Lars O Grönstedt, Chairman of the Board

Phone: +46 8-701 16 33, e-mail: lagr03@handelsbanken.se

Robert Vikström, Company secretary

Phone:+46 8-701 13 01, e-mail: rovi02@handelsbanken.se