

Company Announcement

No. 16/2015

Passing of Zealand's Annual General Meeting in 2015

- All proposals from the Company's Board of Directors were adopted by the General Meeting
- Following the General Meeting, the Board of Directors constituted itself with Martin Nicklasson as new Chairman

Copenhagen, 21 April 2015 – Today, Zealand Pharma A/S (Zealand) (CVR-no. 20 04 50 78) (Nasdaq Copenhagen: ZEAL) held its Annual General Meeting for 2015 at the offices of Plesner Law Firm, Amerika Plads 37, 2100 Copenhagen Ø, Denmark. At the meeting, all proposals from the company's Board of Directors were adopted.

The report by the Board of Directors and Executive Management on Zealand's activities in the past financial year was acknowledged by the General Meeting and Zealand's audited Annual Report for 2014 was approved.

It was approved that the financial result for 2014, i.e. a loss of DKK 64,989,794 will be carried forward to the next financial year.

All board members elected by the General Meeting are elected on an annual basis. Chairman Daniël Jan Ellens and Vice Chairman Jørgen Lindegaard did not stand for re-election. All other members proposed for re-election and all new members recommended by the Nomination Committee and proposed for election by the Board of Directors, were elected by the General Meeting.

Hence, Zealand's Board of Directors now comprises:

- Peter Benson
- Rosemary Crane
- Catherine Moukheibir
- Alain Munoz
- Martin Nicklasson
- Michael J. Owen
- Christian Thorkildsen (employee elected)
- Helle Størum (employee elected)
- Jens Peter Stenvang (employee elected)

Zealand Pharma A/S Page 1 of 2



After the passing of the General Meeting, the new Board of Directors constituted itself with Martin Nicklasson as Chairman.

Catherine Moukheibir, Martin Nichlasson and Rosemary Crane, with Catherine Moukheibir as new Chairman, will comprise the Audit Committee.

Martin Nicklasson, Mike J. Owen and Peter Benson, with Martin Niclasson as new Chairman, will comprise the Remuneration and Compensation Committee.

Martin Nicklasson and Peter Benson will be new Board representatives of the Nomination Committee. Bente Anderskouv from LD continues as shareholder representative, while Remi Droller has resigned from the Nomination Committee as of today. It is the intension to propose a new shareholder representative for election at the Annual General Meeting in 2016.



For further information, please contact:

Britt Meelby Jensen, President and Chief Executive Officer Tel: +45 51 67 61 28, email: bmj@zealandpharma.com

Hanne Leth Hillman, Senior Vice President, Communications and Investor Relations

Tel: +45 50 60 36 89, email: hlh@zealandpharma.com

About Zealand Pharma

Zealand Pharma A/S ("Zealand") (Nasdaq Copenhagen: ZEAL) is a biotechnology company based in Copenhagen, Denmark. Zealand has leading expertise in the discovery, design and development of novel peptide medicines and possesses in-house competences in clinical trial design and management with a therapeutic focus on metabolic diseases and acute care indications. The company is advancing a proprietary pipeline of novel medicines alongside a partnered product and development portfolio.

Zealand's first invented medicine, lixisenatide, a once-daily prandial GLP-1 agonist for the treatment of Type 2 diabetes, is marketed globally (ex-US) as Lyxumia® and in Phase III development as a single-injection combination with Lantus® (LixiLan), both under a global license agreement with Sanofi. US regulatory filing for Lyxumia® is planned for Q3 2015 and US/EU filings for LixiLan in Q4 2015.

Zealand proprietary pipeline includes danegaptide (prevention of Ischemic Reperfusion Injury) and the stable glucagon product, ZP4207 (treatment of severe hypoglycemia) as well as several preclinical peptide therapeutics. Partnering represents an important component of strategy to leverage in-house expertise, share development risk in large clinical trials, provide funding and commercialize the company's products. Zealand currently has global license agreements and partnerships with Sanofi, Helsinn Healthcare, Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly.

For further information: www.zealandpharma.com Follow us on Twitter @ZealandPharma

Zealand Pharma A/S Page 2 of 2