PHA Commends Physician Owned Hospital Winners of the 2010 Press Ganey Summit Award

Sioux Falls, South Dakota, UNITED STATES

13 of 36 Winners of the Coveted Inpatient Quality Award are Physician Owned Hospitals

WASHINGTON, March 2, 2011 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Physician Hospitals of America (PHA) congratulates the winners of the prestigious Press Ganey 2010 Inpatient Summit Award. Each recipient has been ranked in the 95th percentile or above in the Press Ganey database for excellence in patient satisfaction for a minimum of three consecutive years.

Press Ganey CEO Richard Siegrist commented in a recent news release on all winners saying, "Reaching the pinnacle is impressive. Staying there, even more so. The Summit Award recognizes clients who have distinguished themselves by attaining the highest levels of performance, and sustaining this extraordinary success for a period of years. Truly exceptional."

In the inpatient category, just 36 of the nearly 6,000 hospitals nationwide met the strict criteria of the Summit Award. Of those 36 hospitals honored, 13 were physician owned hospitals (POHs). That is an astounding percentage considering POHs make up just five percent of hospitals nationwide. 

"In every single measurement of patient satisfaction, physician hospitals take a disproportionate number of the top spots," says Dr. Michael Russell, President of PHA. "According to the government's own HCAHPS survey data, physician owned hospitals rank first for quality in 20 states."

Physician Owned Hospitals are currently locked in a battle for their right to compete.  Section 6001 of healthcare reform prohibits the construction or expansion of POHs.  Dr. Russell adds, "The government is so focused on improving the patient experience that they are planning to base Medicare reimbursements on quality data.  Yet they are blocking the growth of a model that produces some of the highest quality facilities in the nation.  We hope as this Congress takes the President's invitation to 'fix what needs fixing' in healthcare they will rethink and reverse Section 6001 of the Affordable Care Act.

PHA would like to congratulate the POH recipients of the 2010 Press Ganey Summit Award winners:

Arizona Orthopedic Surgical Hospital, Chandler, AZ 

Indiana Orthopaedic Hospital, Indianapolis, IN 

Heartland Surgical Specialty Hospital, Overland Park, KS

Great Baton Rouge Surgical Hospital, Baton Rouge, LA

P&S Surgical Hospital, Monroe, LA

Institute for Orthopaedic Surgery,  Lima, OH

Oklahoma Heart Hospital, Oklahoma City, OK

Oklahoma Spine Hospital, Oklahoma City, OK

The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano, Plano, TX

Memorial Hermann Surgical Hospital Kingwood, Kingwood, TX

Baylor Medical Center at Frisco, Frisco, TX

Southwest Surgical Hospital, Hurst, TX

Orthopaedic Hospital of Wisconsin, Glendale, WI

There are currently 285 POHs in 34 states.  These hospitals include general acute care, long term acute care, emergency medicine, multispecialty, women's, children's, rehabilitation and psychiatric.   

Press Ganey, the health care industry's leading performance improvement firm, is trusted by more than 10,000 health care organizations to create and sustain high performing organizations and to help improve their clinical, operational and patient satisfaction outcomes.

For more information visit:


Leslie Fossey           

(903) 539‐7712 /

Scott Christiansen

 (312) 961-4745 /

This information was brought to you by Cision