ASCAP Honors Top Film and Television Music Composers at 27th Annual Awards Celebration

Trevor Rabin Receives ASCAP's Henry Mancini Award

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - Jun 28, 2012) - The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) hosted its 27th Annual Film & Television Music Awards tonight at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. The invitation-only dinner and awards ceremony paid special tribute to Trevor Rabin, and honored composers of the top box office film music, the most performed television music and the top video game music of 2011.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams presented ASCAP's Henry Mancini Award to acclaimed composer Trevor Rabin in recognition of his outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music. A member of the group Yes for over a decade, Rabin, a guitarist, keyboardist, singer, songwriter, producer and recording engineer, is one of the most sought-after film composers today. Director Jon Turteltaub, who worked with Trevor on three of his films, National Treasure, National Treasure: Book of Secrets and The Sorcerer's Apprentice, took to the stage to speak on behalf of Trevor and introduced a video montage highlighting his distinguished film career (including Armageddon, Remember the Titans and Con Air). To close out the evening, Rabin performed his most notable penned hit, Yes's single "Owner of a Lonely Heart," from their best-selling album 90125, with the band GROUPLOVE, featuring his son Ryan Rabin on drums. GROUPLOVE also performed their hit single "Tongue Tied," currently Number One on Billboard's Alternative Songs Chart. Past recipients of the Henry Mancini Award include Angelo Badalamenti, Bruce Broughton, Carter Burwell, John Debney, Mark Isham, Quincy Jones, Michel Legrand, Randy Newman, James Newton Howard, Johnny Mandel, Marc Shaiman, Howard Shore and Hans Zimmer.

Other performances of the evening included Josh Kelley, who played the theme song he co-penned for Mike & Molly, and Siedah Garrett, who performed her Oscar-nominated song "Real in Rio" from Rio.

Those honored in the Top Box Office Films category included past ASCAP Henry Mancini Award honorees Mark Isham (Dolphin Tale); James Newton Howard (The Green Hornet, The Green Lantern, Gnomeo & Juliet); Howard Shore (Hugo); Hans Zimmer (Kung Fu Panda 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Rango, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows); John Debney (No Strings Attached); and Carter Burwell (The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1). In addition, awards were presented to Michael Giacchino (Cars 2, Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol, Super 8), ASCAP Golden Note recipient Trent Reznor (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Chris Bacon and ASCAP Golden Note recipient Bernie Taupin (Gnomeo & Juliet), Trevor Morris (Immortals), Rupert Gregson-Williams (Jack and Jill, Just Go With It, Zookeeper), Justin Bieber and Deborah Lurie (Justin Bieber: Never Say Never), John Powell (Kung Fu Panda 2), Paul Leonard-Morgan (Limitless), Bret McKenzie (The Muppets), Henry Jackman (Puss in Boots, X-Men: First Class), Siedah Garrett, Sergio Mendes and John Powell (Rio), Patrick Doyle (Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Thor), Lorne Balfe (Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows) and Heitor Pereira (The Smurfs).

ASCAP composers whose combined works earned the highest number of performance credits on network, local and cable television in the category of themes and dramatic underscore for the 2011 survey year were Jack Allocco, Joel Beckerman, Grant Geissman, Matthew Gerrard, David Kurtz, James Levine, Jeff Lippencott, Walter Murphy, David Vanacore and Mark T. Williams.

The composers who wrote the themes and underscore for the highest rated television series in 2011 were: Kenneth Burgomaster, Toby Gad and Lindy Robbins (A.N.T. Farm); Casey Basichis and Tim Kiefer (Adventure Time); Daniel Burke and Brian Casey (Alaska: The Last Frontier); James Levine (American Horror Story, Glee, Rizzoli & Isles); Catherine Dennis, Julian Gingell and Barry Stone (American Idol); Jeff Lippencott, David Vanacore and Mark T. Williams (Apprentice 11); Marc Fantini, Steffan Fantini and Scott Gordon (Army Wives, Criminal Minds, Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior); Matt Bowen, Devin Powers and Brad Segal (The Bachelor and The Bachelorette); FM Le Sieur (Being Human); Brandon Thompson and David Vanacore (Beyond Scared Straight, Ghost Hunters); Ed Robertson (Big Bang Theory); Scott Fellows, Matthew Gerrard and Jay Landers (Big Time Rush); Trevor Morris (The Borgias); Mark Snow (Blue Bloods); Sean Callery, Jamie Forsyth and Ken Jordan (Bones); Bear McCreary (Caprica and The Walking Dead); Rob Duncan (Castle); John Keane (CSI); Jeff Cardoni (CSI: Miami, The Defenders); Daniel McGrath and Josh Phillips (Dancing with the Stars); Scott Starrett (Drop Dead Diva); Gabriel Mann (The Exes, Modern Family); Ron Jones, Seth MacFarlane and Walter Murphy (Family Guy); Elvin Ross (For Better or Worse); Jef Fortson and James Joiner (The Game); Ramin Djawadi (Game of Thrones); Didier Lean Rachou (Gold Rush); Brian Lapin (Harry's Law); Jeremy Adelman (Hart of Dixie); Morton Stevens (Hawaii 5-0); Sean Callery (Homeland); Emerson Swinford and Ron Wasserman (Hot In Cleveland); David Vanacore (Jersey Shore); John Adair, Toby Gad and Lindy Robbins (Jessie); Tulio Cremisini (La Casa De Al Lado); Mauricio Abaroa and Rudy Perez (La Fuerza Del Destino); Oliver Angel Camargo May, Jose Carlos Maria Ortega and Nicolas Uribe (La Reina Del Sur); Carl Thiel (Last Man Standing); Michael Suby (Make It or Break It); Grant Geissman and Josh Kelley (Mike & Molly); Matthew Hawkins, Maurice "m.O" Jackson and Neil Martin (NCIS); Jay Ferguson (NCIS: Los Angeles); Holly Lieber, Daniel McMains, Jeff Russo and Eric Sampson (Necessary Roughness); Zooey Deschanel (New Girl); Mark Isham (One Upon A Time); Jared Gutstadt (Pawn Stars); J.J. Abrams and Ramin Djawadi (Person of Interest); Adam Blackstone, Brian Frasier, Ric Markmann, Dan Pinnella, Queen Latifah and Clayton Sears (Single Ladies); Joshua Bain, Aaron Keane and Michael Rains (Sister Wives); Brian Langsbard and Justin Melland (Snapped); Joseph LoDuca (Spartacus); Steven Belfer, Nicolas Carr, Derek Drymon, Mark Harrison, Stephen Hillenburg, Pat Irwin, Stephen Marston, Blaise Smith, Barry Trop and Ron Wasserman (SpongeBob SquarePants); Tim Anderson, Alex Ebert and Filip Nikolic (Suits); Russ Landau and David Vanacore (Survivor: Redemption Island and Survivor: South Pacific); Michael Simpson (Tosh.0); Lee Aronsohn and Grant Geissman (Two and a Half Men); Jacob Groth (Unforgettable); Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald and Dan Schneider (Victorious); Jared Gutstadt, Jeff Peters, Rick Smith and Schimmer Music Productions (The Voice); and Simon Cowell (X-Factor).

The Top Video Game Award went to Jeremy Soule, who composed the music to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, the best-selling video game of 2011.

For a complete list of the night's winners, please visit

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization (PRO) representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 435,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members. ASCAP has representation arrangements with similar foreign organizations so that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world where copyright law exists. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American PRO owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. For more information, please visit

Contact Information:

Press Contact:
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
Bobbi Marcus
Tel: 310-889-9200