ACGME Honors Graduate Medical Education Community with Annual Awards, Including John C. Gienapp Distinguished Service Award

25 Individuals and Two Institutions Recognized for Innovation at Annual Educational Conference

CHICAGO, March 02, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) this week presented awards to 27 recipients at its Annual Educational Conference, one of the largest gatherings of graduate medical educators in the world.

For the first time in six years, the ACGME selected a recipient for the John C. Gienapp Distinguished Service Award:

Timothy C. Flynn, MD, FACS
University of Florida College of Medicine
Gainesville, FL

The John C. Gienapp Distinguished Service Award was established in 1999 in recognition of John C. Gienapp, PhD who served as Executive Director of the ACGME for 19 years. The award honors individuals who, like him, have dedicated themselves to graduate medical education and have made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of residency education and ACGME accreditation activities, including:

  • serving on and chairing its Review Committees or ACGME Committees
  • serving as a specialist site visitor or on an appeal panel
  • volunteering for special assignments that contributed to revising requirements or program or institutional information forms
  • assisting Review Committee staff in the implementation of new or innovative projects to improve the accreditation process

Dr. Flynn received his medical degree with honors from Baylor College of Medicine in 1974. He completed his surgery residency at the University of Texas, Houston in 1980 and remained on faculty until 1984 when he came to the University of Florida.

Dr. Flynn has training and Board certification in general surgery, vascular surgery, and surgical critical care. He has distinguished himself nationally in graduate medical education and academic surgery at the University of Florida in several roles.

He is also past-Chair of the ACGME Board of Directors, past-Chair of the American Board of Surgery, and past-Chair of the American College of Surgeons Board of Governors, among others.

“The ACGME is proud to honor these exceptional individuals and institutions of the graduate medical community. Through these awards, the ACGME hopes to inspire institutions, designated institutional officials, program directors, residents, fellows, and coordinators to continue their mission to improve health care by advancing the quality of resident physicians’ education,” said Thomas J. Nasca, MD, president and chief executive officer, ACGME.

The DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award, in its third year, is presented to Sponsoring Institutions by the ACGME and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to recognize institutions with accredited residency/fellowship programs that are exemplary in fostering a respectful, supportive environment for medical education and the delivery of patient care, which leads to the personal and professional development of learners.

The recipients of this year’s DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award are:

Excela Health Latrobe Hospital
Latrobe, PA
Memorial Hospital of South Bend
South Bend, IN

The 2018-20 Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction, presented in partnership with the New York Academy of Medicine, invites junior faculty in internal medicine to develop innovative programs that enhance this fundamental element of clinical care through educational innovation.

This year’s recipient is:

Bethany Joy Brisbin, MD
Chief Fellow of Palliative Medicine
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award is for designated institutional officials who have demonstrated strong leadership and astute resource management and have encouraged innovation and improvement in residency programs and their Sponsoring Institutions. The recipients of this year’s Courage to Lead Award are:

Jerri Curtis, MD
National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, MD
Karen E. Heiser, PhD
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Columbus, OH
Tsveti Markova, MD, FAAFP
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Detroit, MI

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award is given to program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs and served as exemplary role models for residents. The recipients of this year’s Courage to Teach Award are:

Saadia Akhtar, MD
Emergency Medicine
Mount Sinai Beth Israel / Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY
John Del Valle, MD, AGAF, FACP
Internal Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Benjamin R. Doolittle, MD, MDiv
Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
Yale University
Kensington, CT
Kimberly D. Manning, MD
Transitional Year
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Vishad Nabili, MD, FACS
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA
Christopher J. Nagy, MD
San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium
Fort Sam Houston, TX
Jerry Rushton, MD, MPH
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN
Jamshid Shirani, MD
Cardiovascular Diseases
St. Luke’s University Health Network
Bethlehem, PA
Suzanne Woods, MD
Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
Duke University Hospital
Durham, NC

The David C. Leach Award recognizes residents and fellows who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs, advanced humanism in medicine, and increased efficiency and emphasis on educational outcomes. The recipients of this year’s David C. Leach Award are:

Jonathan Lim, MD
Internal Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Brett W. Sadowski, MD
Internal Medicine
National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, MD
Srilakshmi Vallabhaneni, MD
Internal Medicine
Medstar Harbor Hospital
Baltimore, MD
Stella K. Yoo, MD
Radiation Oncology
LAC+USC Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

The GME Institutional Coordinator Award recognizes an institutional coordinator that demonstrates in-depth knowledge of graduate medical education and the process for internal review. This person skillfully manages the multiple roles of administrator, counselor, enforcer, coordinator, organizer, and scheduler. The recipient of this year’s GME Institutional Coordinator Award is:

Michelle Valdez, MA
Naval Medical Center San Diego
San Diego, CA

The GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award is given to program coordinators in recognition of their in-depth understanding of the accreditation process, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and projects to improve residency programs. The recipients of this year’s GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award are:

Denise M. Alton
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Melissa Beckman
University at Buffalo School of Medicine
Buffalo, NY
Linda Howell
Pulmonary and Critical Care
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Theresa Kiefer
National Capital Consortium at Walter Reed National Medical Center
Bethesda, MD
 Denise Lesniak, MA
Emergency Medicine
MetroHealth Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
Lisa M. Miller
Internal Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

The ACGME Awards Program is currently accepting nominations for the 2019 awards through March 30, 2018. The ACGME Board of Directors Awards Committee selects awardees.  More information at

The ACGME is a private, not-for-profit, professional organization responsible for the accreditation of approximately 10,700 residency and fellowship programs and the approximately 800 institutions that sponsor these programs in the United States. Residency and fellowship programs educate approximately 130,000 resident and fellow physicians in 154 specialties and subspecialties. The ACGME's mission is to improve health care and population health by assessing and advancing the quality of resident physicians' education through accreditation.

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at

Susan White, ACGME
c: 773.414.5383