Asanko Gold Results of Annual General Meeting

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, CANADA

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, June 07, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Asanko Gold Inc. (“Asanko” or the “Company”) (TSX, NYSE American: AKG) announced that all the resolutions put to shareholders at the Company’s annual general meeting (the “Meeting”) held on June 7, 2019 were duly passed. The results for each of the matters voted upon at the Meeting are set out below:

Number of Directors
The number of directors of the Company was set at eight (8), with 132,682,260 votes For and 186,329 votes Against.

Election of Directors
The eight nominees listed in the Company’s management information circular dated April 29, 2019, were elected at the Meeting as directors of Asanko.

Director NameVotes For% Votes ForVotes Withheld% Votes Withheld
Colin Steyn132,562,77099.77%305,8190.23%
Greg McCunn132,579,74599.78%288,8440.22%
Peter Breese132,570,79599.78%297,7940.22%
Shawn Wallace132,552,40599.76%316,1840.24%
Gordon Fretwell109,411,50082.35%23,457,08917.65%
Marcel de Groot131,854,14099.24%1,014,4490.76%
Michael Price132,559,06999.77%309,5200.23%
William Smart131,898,50599.27%970,0840.73%

Appointment of Auditor

NameVotes For% Votes ForVotes Withheld% Votes Withheld
KPMG LLP151,324,37999.85%221,5450.15%

Approval of Amended and Restated Shareholder Rights Plan

Amended and Restated Shareholder Rights PlanVotes For% Votes ForVotes Against% Votes Against

Neither Toronto Stock Exchange nor the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.

For further information please visit:, email: or contact:
Alex Buck - Manager, Investor and Media Relations
Toll-Free (N.America): 1-855-246-7341
Telephone: +44-7932-740-452