CMS Recognizes The Joint Commission's Accreditation of Psychiatric Hospitals

Deemed Status Option Awarded for Four Years

Wilmette, Illinois, UNITED STATES

OAKBROOK TERRACE, IL--(Marketwire - March 2, 2011) - The Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has granted The Joint Commission deeming authority for psychiatric hospitals. The four-year CMS designation means that psychiatric hospitals accredited by The Joint Commission will be "deemed" as meeting Medicare and Medicaid's health and safety requirements.

The federal government granted the deemed status authority to The Joint Commission in a February 25, 2011 Federal Register notice, finding that The Joint Commission's standards for psychiatric hospitals meet or exceed those established by the Medicare and Medicaid programs.

"The Joint Commission is pleased to receive this recognition for its accreditation of psychiatric hospitals," says Mark R. Chassin, M.D., FACP, M.P.P., M.P.H., president, The Joint Commission. "This public-private collaboration between CMS and The Joint Commission creates a quality oversight framework for psychiatric hospitals, which provide vital services for Americans who require mental health treatment."

Accreditation is voluntary and seeking deemed status through accreditation is not a requirement. Organizations seeking Medicare approval may choose to be surveyed for Medicare participation requirements by either an accrediting body, such as The Joint Commission, or by state surveyors on behalf of CMS.

In addition to psychiatric hospitals, The Joint Commission has deeming authority for ambulatory surgery centers, clinical laboratories, critical access hospitals, durable medical equipment suppliers (DMEPOS), hospitals, home care agencies and hospices.

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 18,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 9,700 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,800 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. In addition, The Joint Commission also provides certification of more than 1,700 disease-specific care programs, primary stroke centers, and health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

To view this release in a media-rich format, go to:

View the multi-media release here

Contact Information:

Media Contact:
Elizabeth Eaken Zhani
Media Relations Manager