Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Care Management Earns Franklin Award From ACMA, The Joint Commission

Wilmette, Illinois, UNITED STATES

OAKBROOK TERRACE, IL--(Marketwire - Apr 8, 2011) - The Joint Commission and the American Case Management Association (ACMA) today announced that the Care Management Services program of Memorial Hermann Healthcare System, Houston, Texas, is the winner of the 2011 Franklin Award of Distinction.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System's Care Management Services program is a robust program which provides a standardized approach to case management for a seven-hospital system. The system was chosen based upon their program structure and systematic approach to case management across the entire system.

The model provides for common policies and procedures, electronic case management tools, and a collaborative practice approach which includes nurses, social workers, physicians, patients, caregivers and the community.

"Memorial Hermann's system-wide standards and leadership support, along with their Community Outreach for Personal Empowerment (COPE) program really distinguished them from other applicants -- operating within a complex structure, they maintain standards of care while creating programs to meet the unique needs of their patients," says L. Greg Cunningham, CEO, ACMA.

"The Joint Commission applauds Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Care Management for demonstrating their strong focus on improving patient and family outcomes. Their use of the COPE program to address the needs of patients with Heart Failure and Diabetes demonstrates their commitment to support vulnerable populations in their community through telephonic follow-up and home visits. This program has resulted in a measurable reduction in the use of emergency services for regular care and improved the overall quality of care for participants," says Jean Range, M.S., R.N., C.P.H.Q., executive director, Disease-Specific Care Certification, The Joint Commission.

A panel of national experts, including nurses, social workers and other health care professionals identified by ACMA and The Joint Commission, carefully reviewed the nominations and selected Memorial Hermann Healthcare System for the award. The organization was evaluated on its ability to demonstrate a commitment to a collaborative philosophy and an interdisciplinary process for case management.

An on-site evaluation of Memorial Hermann Healthcare System's case management service model validated that their services met or exceeded the award's criteria for excellence. Criteria included:

  • The case management service demonstrates that practice is interdependent and not the function of one person or discipline;
  • The service model demonstrates respect for distinct professional identities and skills;
  • The practice of case management is the catalyst for stronger relationships to achieve the best care for patients and families;
  • The practice of case management provides leadership, competence and expertise in the solution or resolution of identified problems;
  • The case management service has evolved through evaluation and innovation;
  • The patient care provided achieves clinical, operational and/or quality outcomes;
  • Case management practice is validated by measurable and reportable outcomes; and
  • Improved clinical outcomes are documented to the extent that improvement can be replicated in other hospitals or health systems.

"Memorial Hermann is honored to receive the prestigious Franklin Award of Distinction in case management," says Dan Wolterman, president and CEO, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. "We are proud of our Care Management team's outstanding achievements in improving outcomes for the populations we serve. Our leadership has empowered them to facilitate care and be proactive in addressing patient needs. As a result, our medical staff credit them with supporting the objectives of the entire care team. They work tirelessly to be good stewards of our resources and true advocates for our patients."

The award is named for Benjamin Franklin, the co-founder of the first organized hospital in the United States. His personal character, integrity and credibility, as well as his reputation as an entrepreneur and inventor, represent the type of leadership and forward thinking that distinguish the hospitals or health systems recognized as Franklin Award recipients.

ACMA and The Joint Commission will formally present the Franklin Award to Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Care Management today, at the 18th annual National Institute for Case Management (NICM) Clinical Case Management Conference and 12th annual ACMA meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission also provides certification of more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, primary stroke centers, and health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

Founded in 1999, ACMA is the only professional membership organization specifically for Hospital/Health System Case Managers. ACMA strives to provide resources, solutions and support for the professional practice of Hospital Case Management. ACMA's national membership is composed of a variety of professionals affiliated with Hospital/Health System Case Management, including nurses, social workers and physicians. Through a variety of educational conferences and networking events at both the state and national level, ACMA provides its members with numerous opportunities to develop their skills, grow in their profession, and learn from the experiences and practices of fellow members.

View the multi-media release

Contact Information:

For more information, contact:

The Joint Commission
Elizabeth Eaken Zhani

Tyler Neese