The Joint Commission Awards First Disease-Specific Care Certificates for Nursing Homes

Two Illinois Facilities Earn Distinction

Wilmette, Illinois, UNITED STATES

OAKBROOK TERRACE, IL--(Marketwire - Sep 26, 2011) - Claremont Rehabilitation and Living Center in Buffalo Grove, Illinois and Forest Villa Nursing Care in Niles, Illinois, today became the first nursing homes in the country to be certified under The Joint Commission's Disease-Specific Care Certification Program.

Claremont Rehabilitation and Living Center was certified for wound care, orthopedic rehabilitation and pulmonary rehabilitation. Forest Villa Nursing Care was certified for wound care and orthopedic rehabilitation. A team of Joint Commission expert reviewers evaluated the two nursing homes for compliance with Disease-Specific Care standards focused on delivering clinical care; program management and improvement; and clinical information management.

The Joint Commission's Disease-Specific Care Certification Program, launched in 2002, is designed to evaluate clinical programs across the continuum of care. Certification requirements address three core areas: compliance with consensus-based national standards; effective use of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines to manage and optimize care; and an organized approach to performance measurement and improvement activities.

"The Joint Commission commends Claremont Rehabilitation and Living Center and Forest Villa Nursing Care for seeking certification in order to foster better outcomes for residents," says Jean Range, M.S., R.N., C.P.H.Q., executive director of Disease-Specific Care Certification, The Joint Commission. "Achievement of certification signifies that the services at Claremont Rehabilitation and Living Center and Forest Villa Nursing Care have met the critical elements to achieve long-term success in improving outcomes. It is the best signal to the community that the quality of care provided is effectively managed to meet the unique and specialized needs of residents requiring wound care, pulmonary rehabilitation and orthopedic rehabilitation."

"Disease-Specific Care Certification of our Orthopedic Rehabilitation, Wound Care, and Pulmonary Rehabilitation at Claremont and Orthopedic Rehabilitation and Wound Care at Forest Villa exemplifies our commitment to providing the highest quality of skilled nursing care to our patients. This certification validates the high level of care that has made The Claremont and Forest Villa the premier skilled nursing and rehabilitation facilities in the northwest suburbs of Chicago," says Tim Fields, senior vice president of The Claremont of Buffalo Grove and Forest Villa. "Health care reform has forced hospitals to work even closer with skilled nursing providers to provide better patient care and outcomes, and this certification aligns our standards in care."

For more information about the Disease-Specific Care Certification Program, please call 630.792.5291 or e-mail Jean Range at

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission also provides certification of more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, primary stroke centers, and health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

View the multi-media news release

Contact Information:

Media Contact:
Elizabeth Eaken Zhani
Media Relations Manager