Leaders with Commitment to Advancing Patient Safety Join National Patient Safety Foundation Governing Boards

BOSTON, Aug. 11, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF), a central voice for patient safety since 1997, has announced new appointments to the Foundation's Board of Directors and Board of Advisors. The new appointments were effective July 1.

Joining the NPSF Board of Directors for a term of three years are John J. Castellani, president and chief executive officer, PhRMA (the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America), and Peter J. Aranow, a private investor based in Uxbridge, Mass.

Newly appointed to two-year terms on the NPSF Board of Advisors are Jeffrey N. Catalano, Esq., partner, Todd & Weld, LLP; Tracey Moorhead, MA, president and chief executive officer, Visiting Nurse Associations of America (VNAA); and Stephen E. Littlejohn, MA, MBA, president, Climb the Curve Communications, LLC. Charles Benda, PhD, CPCU, ARM, a long-time member of the NPSF Board of Directors, moves to the Board of Advisors.

"We at NPSF are extremely pleased to be welcoming these new board members, who bring a diverse range of experiences and backgrounds, but who all share a commitment to advancing the cause of safer patient care," said Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, president of NPSF. "We are very much looking forward to working with them on advancing the Foundation's mission."

The NPSF Board of Directors provides strategic and operational oversight and is vested with fiduciary responsibilities for the Foundation. The NPSF Board of Advisors (formerly known as the Board of Governors) offers advisory direction and insight on NPSF program development, in keeping with the Foundation's mission. Gregg S. Meyer, MD, MSc, CPPS, chief clinical officer, Partners HealthCare, is the current chair of the Board of Directors. Jane Englebright, PhD, RN, chief nurse executive, patient safety officer, and senior vice president, Clinical Services Group, Hospital Corporation of America, currently chairs the Board of Advisors.

"I know the other members of the NPSF boards join me in enthusiastically welcoming the new members," said Dr. Meyer. "This is an exciting time for the Foundation, and our nominating committee did an outstanding job of ensuring that the boards are characterized by a wide range of expertise."

For more information about the Foundation's governance and complete lists of the NPSF Board of Directors and Board of Advisors, visit our website, www.npsf.org.

About the National Patient Safety Foundation

The National Patient Safety Foundation's vision is to create a world where patients and those who care for them are free from harm. A central voice for patient safety since 1997, NPSF partners with patients and families, the health care community, and key stakeholders to advance patient safety and health care workforce safety and disseminate strategies to prevent harm. NPSF is an independent, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. To learn more about the Foundation's work, visit www.npsf.org and follow @theNPSF on Twitter.