Application now open for new award recognizing improvements in healthcare disparities

Award from The Joint Commission, Kaiser Permanente, honors Bernard J. Tyson, late chief executive officer and reform advocate

OAKBROOK TERRACE, Ill., May 17, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity, a new award program from The Joint Commission and Kaiser Permanente, is now accepting applications through July 8, 2021. The annual award in Tyson’s memory recognizes healthcare organizations and their partners that lead initiatives that achieved a measurable, sustained reduction in one or more healthcare disparities.

All types of healthcare organizations that directly deliver healthcare and have addressed disparities for any vulnerable population, including but not limited to race/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status, may apply.

Applicants are encouraged to submit proposals describing the implementation of a well-defined intervention that resulted in a measurable, sustained reduction in disparities. Initiatives submitted for consideration must demonstrate measurable improvement.

Bernard J. Tyson, the late chairman and chief executive officer of Kaiser Permanente, worked tirelessly to address the disparities that plague the U.S. healthcare system. The Joint Commission and Kaiser Permanente hope that the award will recognize achievement, inspire organizations to launch projects to address healthcare disparities, and provide concrete examples for others to emulate.

There is no cost to apply. For more information and to access the application, please visit the Tyson Award webpage.

About The Joint Commission
Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve healthcare for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating healthcare organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 22,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

About Kaiser Permanente
Kaiser Permanente is committed to helping shape the future of healthcare. We are recognized as one of America’s leading healthcare providers and not-for-profit health plans. Founded in 1945, Kaiser Permanente has a mission to provide high-quality, affordable healthcare services and to improve the health of our members and the communities we serve. We currently serve 12.4 million members in eight states and the District of Columbia. Care for members and patients is focused on their total health and guided by their personal Permanente Medical Group physicians, specialists and team of caregivers. Our expert and caring medical teams are empowered and supported by industry-leading technology advances and tools for health promotion, disease prevention, state-of-the-art care delivery and world-class chronic disease management. Kaiser Permanente is dedicated to care innovations, clinical research, health education and the support of community health.

Media Contact:        
Maureen Lyons
Corporate Communications
(630) 792-5171

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at

Bernard J. Tyson