Metro International: Conference Call Invitation; Preliminary Results for the Six Months Ended 30 June 2002

Bertrange, LUXEMBOURG


BERTRANGE, Luxembourg, July 31, 2002 (PRIMEZONE) -- Metro International, conference call invitation.

Tuesday 6th August 2002


9.30 AM (EST - New York)
2.30 PM (BST - London)
3.30 PM (CET - Stockholm)

Metro International's second quarter results announcement will be released on Tuesday, 6 August, at 8:00 a.m. New York time, 1:00 p.m. London time and 2:00 p.m. Stockholm time.

The timing of the results announcement and conference call have been brought forward from the previously published date of Wednesday, 7 August. This change reflects the requirement that Metro schedule its results prior to Industriforvaltnings AB Kinnevik, because Kinnevik reports earnings for Metro as an equity participation in an associated company. Kinnevik is announcing its results for the first six months of 2002 on Tuesday, 6 August.

The results announcement will be available at www.metro.lu together with a slide presentation.

To register for the teleconference or to listen to a recording after the event, please send an email to info@metro.lu or call the investor relations department on +44 20 7321 5010.

Metro is the world's largest free newspaper, publishing and distributing 23 editions in 15 countries in 13 languages: Stockholm (Metro), Prague (Metro), Gothenburg (Metro), Hungary (Metro), the Netherlands (Metro), Helsinki (Metro), Malmo (Metro), Santiago (Publimetro), Philadelphia (Metro), Toronto (Metro Today), Rome (Metro), Milan (Metro), Warsaw (Metropol), Athens (Metrorama), Montreal (Metro), Barcelona (Metro Directe), Boston (Metro), Madrid (Metro Directo), Copenhagen (MetroXpress), Paris (Metro), Marseille (Metro), Lyon (Metro) and Hong Kong (Metropolis Daily).

Metro International S.A. 'A' and 'B' shares are listed on the NASDAQ National Market and on the Stockholmsborsen O-List under the symbols MTROA and MTROB.

This information was brought to you by Waymaker http://www.waymaker.net

The following files are available for download:


www.waymaker.net/bitonline/2002/07/31/20020731BIT00010/wkr0001.doc
www.waymaker.net/bitonline/2002/07/31/20020731BIT00010/wkr0002.pdf