WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - February 4, 2010) - The Online News Association, the world's largest association of digital journalists, is soliciting proposals for general sessions at its 2010 Conference and Online Journalism Awards Banquet, Oct. 28-30, in Washington, D.C.

Using the new ONA10 Session Selector, the digital community is invited to submit session proposals for consideration in the conference program. Submissions will be accepted through Feb. 28. Then, from March 1 to March 21, anyone can vote on sessions to be featured at the conference.

"We know the future of journalism lies in our members and the digital media community," said ONA Executive Director Jane McDonnell, "and we're looking forward to seeing the game-changing ideas they'll come up with for our next conference."

Those interested in organizing a session and/or speaking on a particular topic should read the Session Selector FAQ, which outlines the guidelines, and then submit their session proposals to the Session Selector.

Community voting will account for about 30 percent of the decision-making process, followed by input from the ONA10 Conference Committee and a Board of Directors representative.

The Online News Association's annual Conference & Awards Banquet has sold out for the past three years. The 2010 conference, chaired by Joshua Hatch of USATODAY and Amy Eisman of American University, will be held at the Renaissance Marriott in Washington, D.C. For more information on hotel reservations and sponsorships, go to http://conference.journalists.org/2010conference/

The Online News Association is the world's largest association of online journalists. ONA's mission is to inspire innovation and excellence among journalists to better serve the public. The membership includes news writers, producers, designers, editors, bloggers, technologists, photographers and others who produce news for the Internet or other digital delivery systems, as well as academic members and others interested in the development of online journalism. ONA also hosts the annual Online News Association annual conference and administers the Online Journalism Awards.

Contact Information: For more information, contact: Jane McDonnell Executive Director Online News Association Sherry Skalko Editor Journalists.org