BURBANK, CA--(Marketwire - April 13, 2010) -  Reprise Records will release The Original Broadway Cast Recording of American Idiot on April 20, 2010, the same day the show will open at the St. James Theatre in New York City. The official album features the 24-member cast accompanied by Green Day, marking another incredible collaboration between the band and the musical. Based on Green Day's chart-topping 2004 album American Idiot, the musical and the cast recording include every song from American Idiot, as well as several songs from the band's GRAMMY® Award-winning current album 21st Century Breakdown.

Green Day's singer/guitarist Billie Joe Armstrong, bassist Mike Dirnt, and drummer Tré Cool wrote the electrifying score to the show, which follows the exhilarating journey of a new generation of young Americans as they strive to find meaning in a post-9/11 world. Armstrong wrote the lyrics and co-wrote the book with the show's director, Tony Award winner Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening). The album's arrangements and orchestration were done by Tony Award-winning composer Tom Kitt (Next to Normal), who is the show's music supervisor, orchestrator and music arranger. Armstrong is the album's producer. 

The album features the entire Broadway cast, including Tony Award winner John Gallagher, Jr. as "Johnny," Tony Vincent as "St. Jimmy," Stark Sands as "Tunny," Michael Esper as "Will," Rebecca Naomi Jones as "Whatsername," Christina Sajous as "Extraordinary Girl," and Mary Faber as "Heather." The show is choreographed by Olivier Award-winning Steven Hoggett (Black Watch) and Carmel Dean is the Music Director.


For further information, contact Reprise Records Publicity:
Brian Bumbery / Brian.Bumbery@wbr.com -- 818-953-3203
TJ Tauriello / TJ.Tauriello@wbr.com -- 818-953-3311

Documents and/or Photos available for this release:
Album Artwork

To view supporting documents and/or photos, go to www.enr-corp.com/pressroom and enter Release ID: 251265