CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - August 19, 2010) -  The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®)( recognized its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony on Thursday, Aug. 12, 2010. This ceremony was part of the NCSBN Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly held in Portland, Ore., Aug. 11 -13, 2010.

Specific award recipients include:
Ann L. O'Sullivan, PhD, MSN, CRNP, CPNP, FAAN, board president, Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing, received the Meritorious Service Award, which is presented to a board or staff member of a member board for positive impact and significant contributions to the purposes of NCSBN.

Cathy Giessel, MS, RN, ANP, FAANP, recent past board chair, Alaska Board of Nursing, received the Exceptional Leadership Award, which is bestowed to an individual who has served as president of a member board and has made significant contributions to NCSBN in that role.

Sue Tedford, MNSc, RN, CNS, APN, board staff, Arkansas State Board of Nursing, and Valerie Smith, MS, RN, FRE, board staff, Arizona State Board of Nursing, each received the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is given for significant contribution by a board of nursing staff member who does not serve as an executive officer or a board member who is not the current board president.

The Texas Board of Nursing was awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the purpose of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In addition, service awards were given to the following executive officers of boards of nursing:

Five Years
Toaga Seumalo, MS, RN, executive secretary, American Samoa Health Services
Charlotte Beason, EdD, RN, NEA, executive director, Kentucky Board of Nursing
Rula Harb, MS, RN, executive director, Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing
Betsy Houchen, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Ohio Board of Nursing

10 Years
Barbara Zittel, PhD, RN, executive secretary, New York State Board of Nursing
Claire Doody Glaviano, MN, RN, executive director, Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners

15 Years
Joey Ridenour, MN, RN, FAAN, executive director, Arizona State Board of Nursing
Laura Skidmore Rhodes, MSN, RN, executive director, West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses
Kathy Thomas, MN, RN, executive director, Texas Board of Nursing

25 Years
Libby Lund, MSN, RN, executive director, Tennessee State Board of Nursing

The following boards of nursing are celebrating 100 years of nursing regulation in 2010:
South Carolina State Board of Nursing
Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose members include the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also seven associate members.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information:

Dawn M. Kappel
Director, Marketing and Communications
312.525.3667 direct
312.279.1034 fax