WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - September 20, 2010) - The Online News Association, the world's largest membership organization of digital journalists, today announced the slate of nominees for the 2011 Board of Directors for the Online News Association.

Out of a record number of applications, there are 16 new candidates and six incumbents running for seven seats on the ONA Board of Directors.

New candidates:
John Abell, New York Bureau Chief, Wired.com
Laura Cochran, Content Manager, ContentOne, Gannett Co., Inc.
Eric Easter, Vice President, Digital and Entertainment, Johnson Publishing
Micah Gelman, Executive Producer, U.S. Video, The Associated Press (AP)
Joshua Hatch, Interactives Director, USA TODAY
Robert Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice, University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
Gary Kebbel, Dean, College of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Rob King, Editor-in-Chief, ESPN Digital Media
Kirk LaPointe, Managing Editor, The Vancouver Sun
Michele McLellan, Consultant, Circuit Rider
Susan Mernit, Editor in Chief, Oakland Local
Eric Scherer, Director, Strategy and External Relations, Agence France-Presse (AFP)
Tiffany Shackelford, Practice Manager, Journalism and Publishing, Phase2 Technology
Ingrid Sturgis, Assistant Professor, Howard University
Will Sullivan, Donald W. Reynolds Fellow, Reynolds Journalism Institute
Jonathan Weber, Editor in Chief, The Bay Citizen

Jody Brannon, National Director, News21
Neil Budde, President, Chief Product Officer, DailyMe.com
Cory Tolbert Haik, Deputy Editor, Universal News Desk, Washington Post
Katie King, Senior Product Manager, Portal and Partnerships, MSN UK
Ken Sands, Online Editor, Bloomberg
Amy Webb, Principal Digital Media Consultant, Webbmedia Group

Elections will be held Oct. 29 through Nov. 13. Candidates will be invited to the 2010 Online News Association Conference & Banquet (Oct. 28-30) to meet with voting members in attendance. During the campaign process, candidates will be encouraged to use any and all social networking tools at their disposal to tell voters how they will help ONA move forward into its next decade.

The candidates were vetted by the ONA Nominating Committee: Co-Chair Kinsey Wilson, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Digital Media, NPR; Co-Chair Teresa Hanafin, Director of User Engagement, Boston.com; committee members Katharine Fong, Editor and Publisher, Scene Magazine, San Jose Mercury News/Bay Area News Group, and Jennifer 8. Lee, Member, Advisory Board at Nieman Foundation, Harvard University, and Lead Judge, Knight News Challenge at John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

The Online News Association is the world's largest association of online journalists. ONA's mission is to inspire innovation and excellence among journalists to better serve the public. The membership includes news writers, producers, designers, editors, bloggers, technologists, photographers and others who produce news for the Internet or other digital delivery systems, as well as academic members and others interested in the development of online journalism. ONA also hosts the annual Online News Association annual conference and administers the Online Journalism Awards.

Contact Information:

For more information, contact:
Jane McDonnell
Executive Director
Online News Association