FRAMINGHAM, MA--(Marketwire - October 13, 2010) - IT organizations driving innovation in some of today's most important technologies were honored this week at SNW Fall 2010 during the Best Practices Awards Program ceremony, presented by SNW in conjunction with Computerworld and The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA).

The awards were presented to the top winners in each of five categories during SNW's Best Practices Awards Program ceremony at the SNW Fall 2010 conference taking place this week in Dallas.

The winners for SNW's Fall 2010 Best Practices Awards Program are:

In the category of "Energy Efficiency, Green Computing and the Data Center:"

-- NetApp, Sunnyvale, California

In the category of "Planning, Designing and Building a Next Generation Storage and Server Infrastructure:"

-- Clackamas County, Oregon City, Oregon

In the category of "Storage Resiliency, Data Protection and Recover:"

-- Barclaycard US, Wilmington, Delaware

In the category of "Technology Innovation and Promise:"

-- Qualcomm, San Diego, California

In the category of "Virtualization and Cloud Computing:"

-- Sprint, Overland Park, Kansas

This year's winners represent a variety of organizations, all of which represent some of today's most important innovations and implementations in this area.

"The theme of SNW this year -- Creating the Modern Information Infrastructure -- aligns completely with the extraordinary work done by our Best Practice Award winners," said Mike Garity, vice president of marketing, IDG Enterprise. "Each company took great care in finding innovative solutions to their specific business problems while also contributing to the overall advancement and evolution of IT."

Produced by Computerworld and co-owned by Computerworld and the Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA), SNW is the largest event for IT end-users, vendors, channel partners, press and analysts involved in storage, data center, infrastructure, and business continuity technologies. SNW also offers the world's largest Expo devoted to storage and related technologies.

For more information about the Best Practices Awards Program or SNW Fall 2010, please visit

About Computerworld

For more than 40 years, Computerworld has been the leading source of technology news and information for IT influencers worldwide. Computerworld's award-winning Web site (, twice-monthly publication, focused conference series, and custom research form the hub of the world's largest global IT media network.

Computerworld's Web site and print publication have won more than 100 awards in the past five years alone. Recognitions include Jesse H. Neal Awards (from American Business Media) in 2008 for Best Web Site, Best Online Articles or Series, and Best Blog; the Magazine of the Year Award from the American Society of Business Publication Editors in 2004 and 2006, and the ASBPE's 2008 Web Site of the Year award and 2006 award for Best Overall Web Publication; and Folio magazine's 2006 Gold Eddie Award for the best technology/computing magazine. was also named one of the "10 Great Media Web Sites" by BtoB magazine in July 2007. Computerworld leads the industry with an online audience of over 3 million unique monthly visitors and a print audience of more than 1,059,000 readers each week (IntelliQuest CIMS, Spring 2009).

About IDG Enterprise

IDG Enterprise, an International Data Group (IDG) company, brings together unique editorial brands (CIO, Computerworld, CSO, DEMO, InfoWorld, IT World, Network World and The Industry Standard) to serve the information needs of our technology and security-focused audiences. As a digital-centric media company we serve our reader and advertiser audiences with award-winning content and community, driving conversation and conversion, across our entire portfolio of awarding-winning, websites, events, magazines, products and services. In addition, the CIO Executive Council, a peer advisory service, brings together the nation's top CIOs, as well as provides community and leadership development tools for their staffs.

Company information is available at

About the SNIA

The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) is a not-for-profit global organization, made up of some 400 member companies spanning virtually the entire storage industry. SNIA's mission is to lead the storage industry worldwide in developing and promoting standards, technologies, and educational services to empower organizations in the management of information. To this end, the SNIA is uniquely committed to delivering standards, education, and services that will propel open storage networking solutions into the broader market. For additional information, visit the SNIA Web site at

Contact Information: Media Contacts: Sarah Thomas Topaz Partners 781-404-2427 Duncan Newell Computerworld 508-271-8029