OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 23, 2011) - By the Honourable James Moore Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

It is my great pleasure to congratulate the winners of the 2011 Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts:

  • Geneviève Cadieux, photographer

  • Robert Fones, visual artist

  • Michael Morris, performance and visual artist

  • David Rimmer, filmmaker

  • Barbara Sternberg, filmmaker

  • Shirley Wiitasalo, painter

  • Kye-Yeon Son, metalsmith

  • Nancy Tousley, journalist and art critic

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to all of this year's award recipients. As artists, they have been able to pass on their passion for their arts to all Canadians. I would also like to thank the Canada Council for the Arts and the Governor General of Canada, whose partnership made it possible to honour great Canadian artists with these awards.

Contact Information: Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages
Codie Taylor - Press Secretary