VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - July 12, 2011) - First Quantum Minerals Ltd. ("First Quantum" or the "Company") (TSX:FM)(LSE:FQM) will publish its second quarter 2011 results on Monday August 8, 2011, after the close of the TSX. The Company's President, Clive Newall, will host a conference call and webcast to discuss the results on Tuesday August 9, 2011 at 9:00 am (EST).

Conference call and webcast details are as follows:

Date: Tuesday August 09, 2011

Time: 6:00 am (PST); 9:00 am (EST); 2:00 pm (BST)

Webcast: www.first-quantum.com

Dial in: Canada and international: 416-695-6616

Toll free North America: 1-800-952-6845

Toll free United Kingdom: 00-800-4222-8835

Replay: Canada and international: 905-694-9451

Toll free North America: 1-800-408-3053

Replay Passcode: 8255870

The conference call replay will be available until 11:59 pm (PST) on August 16, 2011.

On Behalf of the Board of Directors of First Quantum Minerals Ltd.

G. Clive Newall, President

Listed in Standard and Poor's 12g3-2b-82-4461

Contact Information:

First Quantum Minerals Ltd. - North American contact
Sharon Loung
Director, Investor Relations
(647) 346-3934 or Toll Free: 1 (888) 688-6577
(604) 688-3818 (FAX)
sharon.loung@fqml.com

First Quantum Minerals Ltd. - United Kingdom contact
Clive Newall
President
+44 140 327 3484
+44 140 327 3494 (FAX)
clive.newall@fqml.com
www.first-quantum.com

Maitland
Brian Cattell / James Devas
+44 207 379 5151
+44 20 7379 6161 (FAX)
bcattell@maitland.co.uk / jdevas@maitland.co.uk