CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - Aug 10, 2011) - The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN®) recognized its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the NCSBN Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly, held in Indianapolis Aug. 3 - 5, 2011.

Specific award recipients include:

Kathy Malloch, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, board vice president, Arizona State Board of Nursing, was honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and lasting significant contributions through their deep commitment and dedication to the purposes and mission of NCSBN.

Julia George, MSN, RN, FRE, executive director, North Carolina Board of Nursing, received the Meritorious Service Award, which is presented to a board or staff member of a member board for positive impact and significant contributions to the purposes of NCSBN.

Lisa Klenke, MBA, RN, past president, Ohio Board of Nursing, received the Exceptional Leadership Award, which is bestowed to an individual who has served as president of a member board and has made significant contributions to NCSBN in that role.

Judith Personett, EdD, RN, CNAA, board member, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, and Mary Beth Thomas, PhD, RN, board staff, Texas Board of Nursing, each received the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is given for significant contribution by a board of nursing staff member who does not serve as an executive officer or a board member who is not the current board president.

The Virginia Board of Nursing was awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the purpose of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In addition, service awards were given to the following executive officers of boards of nursing:

Five Years
Joan K. Bainer, MN, RN, NE, BC, administrator, South Carolina State Board of Nursing
Michele Bromberg, MSN, APN, BC, nursing act coordinator, Illinois Board of Nursing
Diane Ruan-Viville, MA, RN, executive director, Virgin Islands Board of Nurse Licensure

10 Years
Lanette Anderson, JD, MSN, RN, executive director, West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Licensed Practical Nurses
Lori Scheidt, executive director, Missouri State Board of Nursing

15 Years
Sandra Evans, MAEd, RN, executive director, Idaho Board of Nursing

The following boards of nursing are celebrating 100 years of nursing regulation in 2011:
Idaho Board of Nursing
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Tennessee State Board of Nursing
Vermont State Board of Nursing

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose members include the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also nine associate members.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information:

Dawn M. Kappel
Director, Marketing and Communications
312.525.3667 direct
312.279.1034 fax