TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 22, 2011) - Tumultuous applause, standing ovations and cheers reverberated throughout the convention hall with announcement of the new team that will lead Ontario's labour movement for the next two years.

Current President Sid Ryan has won another two-year term. The United Steelworkers' (USW) Nancy Hutchinson takes up the office of Secretary-Treasurer, and the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW) Irwin Nanda has been elected as Executive Vice-President.

The election represents a renewed spirit of unity in the labour movement that is preparing itself to challenge any politician that puts the interests of corporations ahead of working people.

"Politicians and corporate interests trying to hawk a bogus austerity agenda to the rest of us will have to contend with a new spirit and reinvigorated labour movement," said Ryan. "We are exhilarated and determined to wrest the fundamental changes needed for the 99%. It's a new beginning."

Nancy Hutchinson is renowned as a health and safety activist and a trailblazer. She was the first woman ever to be employed at the Campbell Red Lake Gold Mill in 1977, and has never stopped fighting for workers' rights.

Irwin Nanda has spent 12 years as a full-time officer of CUPW. He is the National Director of the union's Metro Toronto Region and is a passionate advocate for social justice and equity.

The new officers will be sworn in Friday.

Contact Information:

Ontario Federation of Labour
Sid Ryan

Ontario Federation of Labour
Joel Duff
OFL Communications Director

Ontario Federation of Labour
Lynn Simmons