LONDON--(Marketwire - Feb 6, 2012) - Novak Djokovic and Vivian Cheruiyot received top prizes at the 13th annual Laureus World Sports Awards, the premier honors on the international sporting calendar, which were announced this evening at the Awards Ceremony in the heart of London at Central Hall, Westminster. Djokovic was named the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year and Cheruiyot received the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year. Surfer Kelly Slater, the only American to win an award, took the Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year category. This marks his fourth Laureus Award, equaling the record of Roger Federer, the only other four-time winner.

The Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury composed of 47 of the greatest athletes in the world, selected the winners. The red carpet sizzled with global figures from sport and Hollywood including Luke Wilson, Thandie Newton, Lennox Lewis and Bar Rafaeli. The Awards Ceremony was hosted by actor Clive Owen.

Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports 91 community sports projects across the globe (including projects in the U.S.).
The Laureus Sport for Good Foundation is a global leader in research, expertise and best practice in supporting grassroots programs around the world. The members of the Laureus World Sport Academy volunteer their time to act as the driving force for the Laureus charity.

The winners and nominees for the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards are (winners in bold):

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis
Cadel Evans (Australia) Cycling
Lionel Messi (Argentina) Football
Dirk Nowitzki (Germany) Basketball
Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Motor Racing

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year
Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya) Athletics
Maria Höfl-Riesch (Germany) Alpine Skiing
Carmelita Jeter (U.S.) Athletics
Petra Kvitova (Czech) Tennis
Homare Sawa (Japan) Football
Yani Tseng (Taiwan) Golf

Laureus World Team of the Year
All Blacks (N.Zealand) Rugby
FC Barcelona (Spain) Football
Dallas Mavericks (U.S.) Basketball
England Cricket Team
Japan Women's Football Team
Red Bull (Austria) Motor Racing

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year
Yohan Blake (Jamaica) Athletics
Mo Farah (UK) Athletics
Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic) Tennis
Rory McIlroy (UK) Golf
Li Na (China) Tennis
Oscar Pistorius (SA) Athletics

Laureus World Comeback of the Year
Eric Abidal (France) Football
Darren Clarke (UK) Golf
Crusaders (NZ) Rugby
Sergio Garcia (Spain) Golf
Liu Xiang (China) Athletics
Queensland Reds (Australia) Rugby

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Daniel Dias (Brazil) Swimming
Terezinha Guilhermina (Brazil) Athletics
Oscar Pistorius (SA) Athletics
Esther Vergeer (Netherlands) Wheelchair Tennis
David Weir (UK) Wheelchair Athletics
Irek Zaripov (Russia) Nordic Skiing

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year
Jamie Bestwick (UK) BMX
Philip Köster (Germany) Windsurfing
Carissa Moore (U.S.) Surfing
Travis Rice (U.S.) Snowboarding
Kelly Slater (U.S.) Surfing
Shaun White (U.S.) Skateboarding/Snowboarding

About Laureus
Laureus ( comprises the Laureus World Sports Academy, the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation and the Laureus World Sports Awards. Collectively, these three elements form the essence of Laureus, harnessing the power of sport to promote social change and celebrating sporting excellence. Laureus celebrates the universal power of sport to bring people together as a force for good, passionately embodying the very spirit of sport -- the pursuit of excellence, overcoming challenges, celebrating achievement and excellence, and winning against the odds.

Editorial Note: Images available upon request

Contact Information:

Media Contact:
Adam Landres-Schnur or Ruchika Jain
Graham & Associates
(415) 986-7212