VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - April 17, 2012) - First Quantum Minerals Ltd. ("First Quantum" or the "Company") (TSX:FM)(LSE:FQM) will publish its first quarter 2012 financial and operating results on Wednesday, May 2, 2012 after the close of the TSX. The Company's President, Clive Newall, will host a conference call and webcast to discuss the results on Thursday, May 3, 2012.

Conference call and webcast details are as follows:

Date: May 3, 2012
Time: 6:00 am (PST); 9:00 am (EST); 2:00 pm (BST)
Webcast: www.first-quantum.com
Dial in: Canada and international: 416-340-8530
Toll free North America: 877-440-9795
Toll free United Kingdom: 00-800-2787-2090
Replay: Canada and international: 905-694-9451
Toll free North America: 800-408-3053
Replay Passcode: 7804406

The conference call replay will be available until 11:59 pm (PST) on May 10, 2012.

On Behalf of the Board of Directors of First Quantum Minerals Ltd.

G. Clive Newall, President

12g3-2b-82-4461

Listed in Standard and Poor's

Contact Information:

First Quantum Minerals Ltd. - North American contact
Sharon Loung
Director, Investor Relations
(647) 346-3934 or Toll Free: 1 (888) 688-6577
(604) 688-3818 (FAX)
sharon.loung@fqml.com

First Quantum Minerals Ltd. - United Kingdom contacts
Clive Newall
President
+44 140 327 3484
+44 140 327 3494 (FAX)
clive.newall@fqml.com
www.first-quantum.com

Maitland
Brian Cattell/James Devas
+44 207 379 5151
+44 20 7379 6161 (FAX)
jdevas@maitland.co.uk
bcattell@maitland.co.uk