OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 31, 2012) - The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), today applauded the appointment of Brian M. Levitt as Chair of the Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) Program selection board.

"Brian Levitt has forged a reputation as one of Canada's most respected corporate governance advisors," said Minister of State Goodyear. "Mr. Levitt will bring great experience and expertise to his role as Chair of the selection board for the upcoming CERC competition."

In today's modern economy, innovation in the private sector helps improve our quality of life. Innovation creates jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for all Canadians. Since 2006, the Harper Government has invested nearly $8 billion in initiatives supporting science, technology and the growth of innovation firms in Canada. Economic Action Plan 2012 continues to strengthen Canada's position in the world as a leading supporter of research with an additional $1.1 billion over five years.

"It is a great honour for me to have been appointed Chair of the selection board for the 2012 CERC competition," said Mr. Levitt. "The CERC Program has already gained an exceptional reputation for bringing world-leading researchers to Canadian universities. I am delighted to join co-chair Shirley Tilghman and other members of the selection board for this prestigious competition. The addition of new Canada Excellence Research Chairs will continue to strengthen Canada's leadership in supporting and producing innovative research."

Mr. Levitt first joined Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt's Toronto office in 1976, became a partner in 1979 and became president in 1991. He was subsequently named CEO of Imasco Limited, a Canadian consumer products and services company. Imasco was sold in 2000 and he returned to Osler in 2001. Mr. Levitt has served as a director of various public companies over the past 20 years and is currently Chairman of the Board of the TD Bank Group, a director of Domtar Corporation and Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of the C.D. Howe Institute. Mr. Levitt is active in public life and community organizations; he currently serves as Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Mr. Levitt has recently been appointed as Chair of the Canadian Judicial Compensation and Benefits Commission. In 2007, he was appointed to the five-person Competition Policy Review Panel created by the Government of Canada to review key elements of Canada's competition and foreign direct investment policies.

Launched in 2008, the CERC Program is designed to attract and retain the world's best researchers to build a critical mass of expertise in areas of importance to Canada. The first group of chairholders was announced in May 2010. These chairholders are currently working in 13 institutions across the country, contributing to Canadians' well-being and the country's global competitiveness. The latest CERC competition will result in the appointment of 10 new chairholders whose work will further enable Canada to be at the leading edge of research breakthroughs expected to generate significant social and economic benefits for Canadians.

Contact Information:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
Minister of State (Science and Technology)

Industry Canada
Media Relations