TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 27, 2012) - Three OSSTF/FEESO teacher bargaining units held ratification votes today. The results of those ratification votes are as follows:

District 18 Upper Grand Teacher Bargaining Unit ratified the agreement.

District 16 York Teacher Bargaining Unit did not ratify the agreement.

District 22 Niagara Teacher Bargaining Unit did not ratify the agreement.

Last week, when tentative agreements were reached, sanctions either did not begin or were suspended in those boards. Now that some agreements have not been ratified, sanctions will begin or resume as follows:

  • sanctions will commence in the York Region District School Board at a date to be determined and,
  • sanctions will resume in the Niagara District School Board on November 28, 2012.

At this time, there will be no further comments made or interviews scheduled.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information:

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
Lori Foote
Associate General Secretary, Professional Services
416-751-8300 or Cell 647-393-9149
Toll Free 1-800-267-7867