VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - May 13, 2013) - Tree Island Steel Ltd. ("Tree Island Steel" or the "Company") (TSX:TSL)(TSX:TSL.DB) announced that the nominees listed in the management information circular for the 2013 Annual Meeting of Shareholders were elected as directors of Tree Island Steel at the Annual Meeting held in Vancouver on Friday, May 10, 2013. Detailed results of the vote for the election of directors are set out below.

Votes For Votes Withheld
Amar S. Doman 5,827,883 73,220
Michael Fitch 5,844,532 56,571
Sam Fleiser 5,850,148 50,955
Theodore A. Leja 5,813,439 87,664
Harry Rosenfeld 5,827,578 73,525
Dale R. MacLean 5,858,691 42,412

About Tree Island Steel

Headquartered in Richmond, British Columbia, since 1964, Tree Island Steel, through its four operating facilities in Canada and the United States, produces wire products for a diverse range of industrial, residential construction, commercial construction, agricultural, and specialty applications. Its products include bright wire; a broad array of fasteners, including packaged, collated and bulk nails; stucco reinforcing products; concrete reinforcing mesh; fencing and other fabricated wire products. The Company markets these products under the Tree Island, Halsteel, K-Lath, Industrial Alloys, TI Wire, and Tough Strand and Select Brand names. Tree Island Steel also owns and operates a China-based company that assists the international sourcing of products.

Contact Information:

Tree Island Steel Ltd.
Nancy Davies
Chief Financial Officer
(604) 523-4587