CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - May 15, 2013) - Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX:BTE) (NYSE:BTE) reports that the nominees listed in its Information Circular-Proxy Statement for the 2013 Annual and Special Meeting of Shareholders were elected as directors. Detailed results of the vote for the election of directors held at the Annual and Special Meeting on Tuesday, May 14, 2013 are set out below.

Votes For Votes Withheld
Name of Nominee # % # %
James L. Bowzer 51,589,536 89.4 6,086,850 10.6
John A. Brussa 39,898,289 69.2 17,778,097 30.8
Raymond T. Chan 48,028,066 83.3 9,647,420 16.7
Edward Chwyl 51,828,571 89.9 5,846,915 10.1
Naveen Dargan 51,819,473 89.9 5,856,913 10.1
R.E.T. (Rusty) Goepel 57,411,510 99.5 264,876 0.5
Gregory K. Melchin 57,414,295 99.5 262,091 0.5
Dale O. Shwed 50,014,976 86.7 7,661,410 13.3

For complete voting results, please see our Report of Voting Results which will be available shortly through SEDAR at and EDGAR at

Baytex Energy Corp. is a dividend-paying oil and gas corporation based in Calgary, Alberta. The company is engaged in the acquisition, development and production of crude oil and natural gas in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin and in the Williston Basin in the United States. Approximately 89% of Baytex's production is weighted toward crude oil. Baytex pays a monthly dividend on its common shares which are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol BTE.

Contact Information:

Baytex Energy Corp.
Brian Ector
Vice President, Investor Relations
Toll Free Number: 1-800-524-5521