CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - May 22, 2013) - Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd. (TSX:PBG) announces that, at our annual meeting of shareholders held on May 22, 2013, the following six director nominees were elected:

Number Percent Number Percent
Ian S. Brown 24,541,394 92.99% 1,848,858 7.01%
M. Neil McCrank 25,965,446 98.39% 424,806 1.61%
Kenneth R. McKinnon 25,966,204 98.39% 424,048 1.61%
Corey C. Ruttan 25,964,383 98.39% 425,869 1.61%
Dr. Harrie Vredenburg 25,959,941 98.37% 430,311 1.63%
John D. Wright 24,689,674 93.56% 1,700,578 6.44%

In addition, our shareholders also approved the appointment of KPMG LLP as our auditors for the ensuing year and an amendment to our by-laws to allow for an advance notice provision with respect to the election of directors.

Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd. is a Calgary-based oil and natural gas exploration and production company with operations in western Canada. Petrobank is applying its patented THAI® heavy oil recovery process in the field. THAI® is an evolutionary in-situ combustion technology for the recovery of bitumen and heavy oil. THAI® and CAPRI® are registered trademarks of Archon Technologies Ltd., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd., for specialized methods for recovery of oil from subterranean formations through in-situ combustion techniques and methodologies with or without upgrading catalysts. Used under license by Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd.

Contact Information:

Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd.
John D. Wright
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd.
Peter Cheung
Vice President Finance and Chief Financial Officer
403.266.5794 (FAX)