WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - Jun 4, 2013) - Established in 2010, the IASA Scholarship Program is a demonstration of the association's commitment to aiding students at the sophomore level or above who are enrolled in a university with an insurance program and whose course of study includes working toward a degree in Information Technology (IT), Actuarial Science, Accounting or Risk Management.

After a thorough evaluation process, IASA's Scholarship Committee has selected fifteen worthy candidates to receive the association's 2013 scholarships. All of the scholarship recipients have proven dedicated not only to academic excellence, but to the betterment of themselves, their campuses and their communities through service and leadership.

This year, IASA has been able to expand the scholarship program through the generous funding received from a number of IASA chapters, companies and individuals who view the scholarship program as making a difference in the lives of the candidates, as well as the industry. The fifteen outstanding recipients of the 4th Annual IASA Scholarship Program, including the Walt Mason Scholarship, are:

$2,500 Walt Mason Scholarship

  • Thomas Fiorillo, St. John's University, Actuarial Science

$2,000 Scholarships:

  • Alyssa Bouchard, Appalachian State University, Risk Management and Insurance
  • Gurpreet Bedi, Virginia Commonwealth University, Finance/Risk Management and Insurance

$1,000 Scholarships:

  • Davy Lim Ah Tock, St. John's University, Actuarial Science
  • Guadalupe Cotto, Roosevelt University, Business Administration/Accounting
  • Janice Tallman, Appalachian State University, Risk Management and Insurance
  • Nicole McArdle, Illinois State University, Actuarial Science
  • Stephen Craigmiles, Missouri State University, Risk Management and Insurance

$500 Scholarships:

  • Andrew Litchfield, Ball State University, Risk Management and Insurance
  • Anna Pan, University of Hartford, Accounting
  • Dana Thomas, Illinois State University, Insurance
  • Jennifer Richey, Missouri State University, Risk Management and Insurance
  • Sabrina Weislak, Ball State University, Actuarial Science
  • Rachel Roberts, Indiana State University, Insurance/Risk Management
  • Sonisha Shrestha, University of North Texas, Risk Management and Insurance

This year's recipients will be recognized during the 2013 IASA Annual Educational Conference and Business Show, June 2nd - 5th, in Washington, DC. IASA and OneShield have sponsored the Walt Mason Scholarship winner, Thomas Fiorillo to join us in Washington, DC.

For more information about the IASA Scholarship Program, please contact Sonia Cliffel at 585-643-3324 or Karen Furtado at 978-239-2741, or visit the IASA website at www.iasa.org and click on "Scholarship Program" in the main menu.

About IASA
The Insurance Accounting & Systems Association, Inc. (IASA) is a non-profit, education association that strives to enhance the knowledge of insurance industry professionals, and participants from similar organizations closely allied with the insurance industry by facilitating the exchange of ideas and information. IASA is one of the insurance industry's largest, and most well represented trade associations. IASA membership includes insurance companies of all types (Property & Casualty, Life, Health, Fraternal, HMO and others) as members, as well as companies serving the insurance industry, regulators and also organizations more broadly representative of the financial services industry, including banks and investment brokerage firms. Learn more about the IASA by visiting our website at www.iasa.org or by calling (919) 489-0991.

Contact Information:

IASA Media Contact:
Jennifer Overhulse
St. Nick Media Services
(859) 803-6597