FRANKFORD, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - July 15, 2013) - Nicole Lauzon of Frankford has been named the 4-H Ontario provincial winner of the 2013 GROWMARK essay contest for high school students who are 4-H members. The theme of this year's contest was "Fighting Domestic and Global Hunger."

In her contest entry, Nicole said: "Developed nations are equipped with the agricultural technologies and practices to help make change happen, not only locally but on a national level. Conquering hunger starts with one person's ideas expanding into a need for everyone worldwide to come together and work as one nation, one world."

As the contest winner, Nicole will receive a $500 award from GROWMARK. At the Hastings County 4-H Association annual banquet and awards night in October, she will be presented with a certificate of achievement and the Hastings 4-H Association will receive an additional $300 to help support future programs in her local community.

Four provincial runners-up each received a $125 scholarship. The runners-up and their 4-H Associations, in alphabetical order are: Dennis Catt of St. Thomas (Elgin County 4-H); Julie French of Caledon (Peel County 4-H); Matthew Gerrits of Wyoming (Middlesex County 4-H) and Valerie Robinson of Ayton (Grey County 4-H).

This is the second year for the program in Ontario, but the 20th year for the program in the United States, sponsored by the GROWMARK System and FS member co-operatives, in conjunction with state FFA leaders in Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin. The essay contest was designed to help young people develop their writing skills, learn about current issues in agriculture, and understand the unique role of co-operatives.

GROWMARK is a regional co-operative providing agriculture-related products and services, as well as grain marketing in Ontario and 43 US states. GROWMARK owns the FS trademark, which is used by affiliated member co-operatives. The FS brand represents knowledgeable, experienced professionals acting with integrity and dedication to serve more than 250,000 customers. More information is available at

Photo of Winner Available Upon Request.

Contact Information:

Janice Johnson