WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - Oct 8, 2013) - From a record number of submissions, the Washington DC Chapter of the American Institute of Architects announced their 2013 Chapter Design Award Winners. 

AIA|DC's Chapter Design Awards recognizes excellence in the categories of architecture, interior architecture and historic resources, demonstrating to the public the value of good design, while illustrating the wide variety of services performed by architects.

The 220 projects were judged by an esteemed panel of nine architects, whose comments about the recognized works included, "...intelligently organized... thoughtfully executed... delightfully fresh and invigorating... feels like a great place to be... demonstrates more than simple professional competency."

"We're so grateful to our jurists who dedicated so much time and passion to reviewing our Chapter's work," said Mary Fitch, Executive Director of AIA|DC. 

The full list of Winners can be found at: http://aiadc.com/2013-Winners

ARCHITECTURE: Jurors, Iñaki Alday, Thomas Beeby, FAIA, Jaquelin T. Robertson, FAIA, FAICP
Awards of Merit
JACOBS - Mission Training Complex
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill - National Museum of American History, Public Space Renewal
Howeler Yoon Architecture - 2345 MLK
David Jameson Architect - NaCl
McInturff Architects - Rappahannock Bend Summer House
VOA Associates - 815 Connecticut Avenue
Travis Price Architects - Tale of the Tongs
Suzane Reatig Architecture - In Living Color
Schlesinger Associates Architects - 3 Trees Flats
Cannon Design - U.S. Air Force Academy, The Holaday Athletic Center
Foundry Architects - Minim House
STUDIOS Architecture - Washington Canal Park
Wnuk Spurlock Architecture - 1320 9th Street NW
Michael Winstanley Architects & Planners - Capella Hotel
McInturff Architects - Somerset Pool Bath House
Cunningham|Quill Architects - The Treehouse
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA Architect - Tred Avon River House

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE: Jurors, Randy Brown, FAIA, Patricia Conway, Marc Tsurumaki, AIA, LEED AP
Award of Excellence
KUBE Architecture - See-Through House

Awards of Merit
KGD Architecture - IAI Headquarters
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA Architect - NOC Conversion
STUDIOS Architecture - Arent Fox
Kramer Consulting Services PC - Kramer Consulting Services

Folly Award
Andrew Pressman, FAIA - Design and Naked Mole Rats

HISTORIC RESOURCES: Jurors, Fran Gale, Robert Loversidge, Jr., FAIA, Don Swofford, FAIA
Award of Excellence
Hartman-Cox Architects - The University of Michigan Law School, Robert B. Aikens Commons

Awards of Merit
CORE - Mount Pleasant Library
Bowie Gridley Architects - Meridian Public Charter School
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects - Re-creation of the Old House of Delegates Chamber, Maryland State House

Special Citation
Bell Architects - Gadsby's Tavern Ice Well

Sustainable Design
McGraw Bagnoli Architects - The One Nest Project
STUDIOS Architecture - Washington Canal Park
Hartman-Cox Architects - The University of Michigan Law School, South Hall
Studio Twenty Seven Architecture - +2edison7
SmithGroupJJR - Architectural Office

Universal Design
STUDIOS Architecture - USO Warrior and Family Center at Fort Belvoir
Quinn Evans Architects - Learning Living Residence Hall 6, Gallaudet University
Quinn Evans Architects - Seal and Sea Lion Exhibit on the American Trail, Smithsonian Institution National Zoological Park

Urban Design
Torti Gallas Urban - Georgetown Social Safeway
Esocoff & Associates Architects - Senate Square East Building
Torti Gallas Urban - The Nannie Hellen at 4800

About AIA|DC:
AIA|DC advances the value of architecture for our members, our profession, and our community providing advocacy, leadership and resources for architects to design a better world.

Founded in 1887, the Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects serves the Nation's Capital. The Chapter was intimately involved in the design and planning of Washington, and continues to play an active role in city development today. For more information please visit: www.aiadc.com

Contact Information:

Media Contacts:
Joel Greenberg

202-363-1065 | 202-669-3639

Shawn Broxson