LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - Mar 14, 2014) -  Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ) (AIM: SQZ) ("Serica" or the "Company") announces that the Trustees of the Serica Energy Share Incentive Plan ("the Plan") have made purchases of and allocated Serica shares under the terms of the Plan on behalf of employees and officers of the Company as a result of which certain directors increased their beneficial shareholdings in the Company by a total of 7,200 shares on 13 March 2014, as follows:

Christopher Hearne (Finance Director) acquired 3,600 ordinary shares at an average price of 12.5 pence per share taking his total beneficial shareholding to 1,061,825 shares representing 0.42 % of the voting rights;

Mitchell Flegg (Chief Operating Officer) acquired 3,600 ordinary shares at an average price of 12.5 pence per share taking his total beneficial shareholding to 311,672 shares representing 0.12% of the voting rights.

The Company has 250,179,040 shares issued and outstanding.

To receive Company news releases via email, please contact serica@instinctif.com and specify "Serica press releases" in the subject line.

Contact Information:

Serica Energy plc
Tony Craven Walker
Chairman & Interim CEO
tony.cravenwalker@serica-energy.com
+44 (0)20 7487 7300
Mitch Flegg
COO
mitch.flegg@serica-energy.com
+44 (0)20 7487 7300
Chris Hearne
CFO
chris.hearne@serica-energy.com
+44 (0)20 7487 7300

Peel Hunt
Richard Crichton
richard.crichton@peelhunt.com
+44 (0)20 7418 8900
Charles Batten
charles.batten@peelhunt.com
+44 (0)20 7418 8900

RBC Capital Markets
Matthew Coakes
matthew.coakes@rbccm.com
+44 (0)20 7653 4000
Daniel Conti Instinctif Partners
daniel.conti@rbccm.com
+44 (0)20 7653 4000
David Simonson
david.simonson@instinctif.com
+44 (0)20 7457 2020
Catherine Wickman
catherine.wickman@instinctif.com
+44 (0)20 7457 2020